This is what I've been waiting for


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
October 2nd 2009
Published: October 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

all summer long. I have been waiting for school to begin. And I've been waiting for the school year to begin in Spain. My school is located in the small village of Arganda Del Rey. It is an hours metro ride out of the city. The metro actually rises from underground, so I am able to catch glimpses of the Spanish countryside on my way to work. The distance from school is a 10 minute walk uphill, reminding me of the streets in Zacatecas, Mexico when Charisma and I visited this past spring. When I arrived I was greeted by children lining up, some accompanied with parents. I was lost. I asked for the coordinator of the school and was taken to the teacher's quarters. I met Ana Castro, a very nice woman, the person whom emailed me and welcomed me to the into the bilingual program, and into the school.
The day went by so swiftly, the kids were so welcoming and intriguing, they wanted to know my favorite things. In the mornings I have 2nd graders, and the afternoons I will be teaching 3rd grade science. I have plenty of ideas, ways I can incorporate language and utilize the time with learning games and at the same time follow the curriculum.
I was pretty tired by the end of the school day. I woke up especially early to make it to work on time. The metro ride home was calming and serene. I felt proud that I was working, I know that it is not much, but it is a start. There was a mention of possible private instruction with kids from a nearby school In Arganda Del Rey, and I am hoping to work as much as possible while I am here. I need the experience.
The evening was celebrated with friends (Rachel, Martin and his Girlfriend) from orientation at an art exhibition of Rachel's friend. Wine was everywhere, and the crowd was friendly and warm as the evening air. Rachel wanted to grab more drinks, she invited other people from the exhibit to a hookah bar. I have a cough from the smoke, this is ironic considering I loved to smoke in Madrid, now that is not a possibility at all. I shared tea with Rachel and Martin and his girlfriend (I feel terrible that I forgot her name) smoked hookah. From the hookah bar we ended up at a nearby jazz bar. As the group was talking, I realized how much more I want to be here this year. I promised myself then that I would learn Spanish by the end of the year, and try to learn another language (for travel) the remaining time I am abroad. The more goals I set for myself I am compelled to change and progress and "grow up". When I do return to the states I plan on finally finishing school, finding a job I can withstand, and applying for graduate school (to where I have no idea).
I'm so tired now, I need rest. I have a midterm to complete and I am BEHIND!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb