Day 6


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
August 28th 2012
Published: August 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After another night with only 2 hours of sleep we woke up for a Picasso conference. I have to admit I was nearly asleep the whole time so it was a good thing I have already studied Picasso thoroughly in high school.

<span> We walked through Barcelona to get to the Picasso museum and were were able to see all the artwork we had learned about which is always more exciting to us. After that we took a short lunch break and then visited the Fundacion Miro- another artist’s museum. His work couldn’t compare to that of Picasso though. Although he had these amazing giant tapestries that were at least thirty by twenty feet, his paintings and scultures were abstract. Even though I knew his work was time consuming and used various techniques, I couldn’t appreciate it as much because I felt like I could have done it whereas Picassos collection could never be dublicated.

<span> We got back to the hotel after that and I did some brousing at stores and touring the city. It was so relaxing. When I was finished with that my roommate and I had a meeting about our host family. We got to see pictures of our host mother (and her dog) and the house. Her name is Maria and she is a nutritionist that is perfect for me. The only things she asks of us is to turn the electricity off when we aren’t using it, walk her dog Xana, and stick to a 10-minute shower. We were able to read reviews of past students and they all really liked here. They said she was an amazing cook and also will pack us food to take on weekend’s trips. Students also said she was in the best location. It only takes ten minutes to walk to class and we are right next to a park. All I can say about it right now is that I’m excited to move in and really be able to assimilate to the culture.

<span> For our final night in Barcelona we got tapas in Las Ramblas and went to Shoko (pronounced choco) that was in a strip of clubs that are actually on the beach. I got to dance and be on the beach at the same time- I don’t think I could have asked for a better end to our stay in Barcelona. Off to San Sebastian in the morning- known for having the most popular beach in all of Spain!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb