Incredible Day Trip to Montserrat


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
March 31st 2011
Published: March 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

MontserratMontserratMontserrat

Mountains and monastery
Usually I try to take at least one organized tour while I am on vacation. For one day it is nice to sit back and be driven around, told when to eat, what to see and so on. True, I would go bonkers if I had to do it throughout the whole vacation, but today was such an incredible day trip. We went to Montserrat, about an hour outside of Barcelona. There is an old monastery there, which was nice, but what I wanted to see were the mountains of Montserrat. They are serrated and jagged, standing so tall over the area. We lucked out with a warm sunny day with deep blue sky and white clouds. It was a perfect day for hiking up in the mountain.

Most of the group headed up the trail to where a cross stands. It was a natural place to take pictures looking back down to the monastery and was a quick and easy hike. I had been told that there was construction taking place today, involving a helicopter bringing in supplies and closing the path, so I hightailed it up past the cutoff from the cross to where I felt safe that
Cross ViewpointCross ViewpointCross Viewpoint

Looking towards the first stop on the hike.
I would not be stopped. My goal was to do the remaining 20 minutes up to where the funicular station is. As much as I love traveling during the slow period, the are always some glitches. The funicular is down for maintenance and won't be open for a while, but in the whole scheme of things that was a minor bump. This forced me to take a beautiful hike and see scenery that I would have missed. True, I was sweating and panting like an old dog by the time I made it to the top, but it was so very worth it. If you have followed my other trips, you have to realize that while traveling I am into the hiking, climbing, physical things that I normally would not do. My strategy is to stop and take pictures and rest when I am tired and winded, so today I have a whole smattering of photos. I feel that if someone is watching, they may not realize that I am ready to pass out, but will think I am an especially observant photographer. (well I can justify it to myself this way) All told, only 5 of us made the hike to the top funicular station. I walked down with a very friendly couple from DC. It was nice to chat and compare travel notes. I have to say that this group was the most friendly and outgoing of any organized group I have taken.

A very dear friend recommended that I check out Sagrada Familia at night, so I did. What I failed to do was to really read the Metro map, so went to a stop called Sagrera, not Sagrada Familia. Woops. It was an easy fix to back track 2 stations and change to another line for a few stops. Seeing the church at night was very different. The lighting brought out a whole different side to the walls and windows. Not having swarms of tourists crowding around fighting for just the right photo opp was nice to. It was very quiet and peaceful. Took the Metro back to my stop and came up an entrance I was not familiar with. I will admit this, but only to you. I was tired, hungry and had a figurative wedgie, so when I saw Burger King I thought "Hey, no one will know. I can just not write about dinner. It will be easy and comfortable." But no!!! I walked until I found a real Tapas bar, and ordered food for an army. I went with ham and gherkin salad, Bread with Tomato, Sauteed Potatoes with Ailoi (Oh yeah, that is the ticket) Sauteed Chorizo (hoo yeah) and Tuna with Anchovy on Grilled Bread ( kind or a swing and a miss on this one) and a couple beers to wash it all down. Now, back in the hotel I am fully satisfied, and don't feel guilty for where I ate. overall a darn good evening.

Back down at the monastery, we saw one of the oldest boys choir in Europe perform. Due to timing, we slipped out early, grabbed sandwiches, chips and waters and had a picnic outside. Being up here and experiencing all of this was more spectacular that I had imagined. If we had come back to Barcelona, I would have been completely satisfied, but there was the trip to the Cava region.

Cava is what Spanish sparkling wine is called. It is made from the same method as Champagne, but as you may know, only sparkling wine made in the Champagne region
View from TrailView from TrailView from Trail

This was one of the stop, pant and rest stops, but was also a great view.
of France may be called Champagne. The Codorniu wine cellar that we visited has several buildings that are national monuments (or historical landmarks or something; I was paying less attention to the tour and thinking more about a couple cold glasses of Cava at the end of the tour.) The grounds and buildings were truly beautiful. Wisteria and/or lilacs were blooming up and down the buildings. The underground caves, or cava, where the wines are stored go 4 stories down. I have been to several wine tours, but this was very interesting. And of course, the Cava was cold and delicious.

A dear friend recommended that I check out Sagrada Familia at night, which was a good suggestion. I took the Metro, but failed to really read where I was going. I ended up at Sagrera, not Sagrada Familia. Oops, but it was an easy fix to backtrack 2 stations, switch to a different line and to a few more stops. Seeing the church at night was so different than during the day. The lighting brought out a softer side to the walls, and the stained glass windows were beautiful. It was also nice not having the swarm of
Too FunToo FunToo Fun

I liked this a lot.
tourist jockeying for a better photo opp position while talking at the top of their voices. The quiet and stillness was such a nice setting to view it. I hopped back on the Metro and found my way back easily, although when i exited the station I didn't recognize where I was. My inner child was tired and whining and wanted to stop at Burger King when I walked past. It just seemed so quick and easy and as long as I didn't tell anyone, it would be ok. Thankfully the outer child took charge and put me on the path to an incredible tapas restaurant. I ordered food for an army and enjoyed myself immensely. Had Spanish Omelette, Tuna with Gherkins, Sauteed Chorizo (Yum) Sauteed Potatoes with Aioli (oh yeah) Bread with Tomato, and Tuna on Grilled Toast with Anchovy (yeah, not so much.) It was such a great end to an incredible day.




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Another ViewAnother View
Another View

This was the view from another direction
Looking DownLooking Down
Looking Down

If you look hard enough, you can see the monastery down below. Yeah, it was a pretty darn good hike up here.
AnimalsAnimals
Animals

Can you see the monkey and elephant?
FlowersFlowers
Flowers

What a great building with the flowers blooming all over.
Sagrada Familia at NightSagrada Familia at Night
Sagrada Familia at Night

I was told to check this out at night, which was very good advice. Thanks
Front of Sagrada FamiliaFront of Sagrada Familia
Front of Sagrada Familia

The front side at night
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Holy yummy food Batman, this was a feast!!!


31st March 2011

sounds good so far!
OK, the whole day sounds great. But I have to admit I wasn't reading very carefully at first. I read"the oldest boys choir" as "the oldest choir boy"! Definitely made me start to pay better attention! lol Keep having fun! Talk to you later. Deb
1st April 2011

Big Dinner!
Hi B, Sounds like everyday is better than the last. Hope you continue to get wonderfull weather after the doom and glom weather from your last trip. Looking at that picture of super made me think it was my meal and not yours. Did you eat it all? It looked really good from here. Have fun and take care. Ted
1st April 2011

Just to Clarify
I have to put a disclaimer that I did not eat all of that food. My goal was to sampler and try new things. Traveling alone, I can either order a few, or lots and not eat them all. I did make a good dent in them though. And thanks Ted, I am loving this weather. It sure is different than the sleet and rain.
4th April 2011

such great shots! I really like the Sagrada Familia shots at night and I did see the monkey and the elephant. Can't wait to see more!
4th April 2011

Thank you very much. I am glad that people are enjoying them.
25th April 2011

Looking at these makes me miss you. A lot.

Tot: 0.285s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 38; qc: 160; dbt: 0.188s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb