Being a Tourist in Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Barcelona
March 30th 2011
Published: March 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today was a great day. I found my way to the cable car that goes over the water and up to Montjuic, where the Olympic Stadium is. I didn't take time to see that, but did see some great views of the City and Mediterranean. It was nice to take some cable cars and sit while looking at the views. While I was up there, I had another "bag" lunch. It was a ham and cheese on baguette sandwich, chips, Coke and later an espresso. Will have to make dinner more exciting, because this was purely functional.

Once back down near the Port, I walked along the waterfront until I came to Frank Gehry's big fish. It is a big symbol of the village, so I wanted to see it. Oddly enough, it is not a building, but rather a cover for a plaza. Still, it was pretty interesting to see. If you read down through my Prague entries, you will see the Dancing House that he did. I decided to take it easy on myself, so grabbed a taxi to take me to the Sagrada Familia. I studied the architect, Antonio Gaudi, in architecture school and was fascinated by his work. Sagrada Familia was amazing. As dark as it is on the outside, it was incredibly light and airy inside. I will put up a picture of one of the stained glass windows. As trite as it may sound, the interior soars to the sky, something I was so not expecting. Usually churches like this are dark and foreboding, not joyous and full of life. Later I took an elevator on the backside up about 50 meters. From there I walked up and down and around in the circular towers. There were some truly outstanding photo opportunities up here. My favorite is the one of the shadow of the cathedral on the green lawn. It was quite packed here, so I took a couple subway lines to Park Guell. The subway was very user friendly which helped a lot. I haven't found the City to be that user friendly to lost tourist, but perhaps that is just me. The people I have spoken with have been very friendly and helpful, but the signage is not as good as some of the other cities I have visited.

Park Guell was built to be a "select garden city." Without going into too much detail and risk boring you, I will just say that it is a park with a few whimsical houses and some truly fantastic design elements. I spent hours here walking up and down, taking pictures, listening to a violinist play in the Hall of 100 Columns, and generally being overwhelmed by how beautiful it is. I can only imagine what it must be like during summer when the flowers are in bloom. Much of the design element is mosaics. The benches, walls, and ceilings are filled with all sized mosaics of every color imaginable. I used the Macro setting on my camera and took a plethora of photos of the intricate mosaics. From what I remember, Gaudi would have his workers pick up all the old bottles and dishes they found so they could be broken into small pieces for these decorations. If you haven't picked up on it yet, this has truly been the highlight of the trip so far. I could go on for a long time (and you thought I already had rambled enough about this) but I won't. If you are interested, I would strongly recommend checking out a DVD on this although
Inside Sagrada FamiliaInside Sagrada FamiliaInside Sagrada Familia

It is a nice picture, but still doesn't do justice to this place.
seeing it in person is something different altogether.

After Park Guell, I was so tired and so tourist-ed out that I took a city bus back to the hotel. I knew that I needed to be on the 24 bus, and felt confident that I would end up where I needed to be. Being a type A control freak, it is sometimes difficult to let go and realize that if I miss a bus stop, or go the wrong direction that it is ok. Best case scenario I take another bus, worst case I take a taxi. Vacation and travel are good for me in helping to remember that sometimes it is the journey and not always the destination. Some of my favorite memories are things I ran across while lost. Right now it's around 9PM, so once I am done here, it's off to find some delicious Spanish food.

Well now, that was an adventure. I am kind of a pain when I travel, because I don't like to eat at places that cater to tourists. There is a fine line between a place I like, and a dive, so I walk around for such a long time to find just the right balance. En route, I was accosted by a, we will say she was a very friendly, lady. She actually came up to me twice and wouldn't leave me alone. I was raised to be polite, but even I had enough. After I yelled at her to leave me alone please, (see polite) she stormed off mocking me. Just another day in the world of travel. I did, however, find a great restaurant. Had the most magnificent Iberian Meat and Cheeses, see picture, Fried Artichokes with Romesco Sauce, Light but flavorful Gazpacho, and some Broad Beans with Ham (not everything can be spectacular I guess, sigh) and then a Catalan Custard that I paired with Cava, otherwise known as Champagne. It was actually worth having that woman bother me since that put me on the street to this place. Walking home at 2300, I realized just how lost I was. Not sure how I ended up so darn far away from where I thought I was, but my travel self kicked in and I just walked until I figured out where I wanted to be.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

ExteriorExterior
Exterior

This is what is shown in the shadow in the next photo
On Sagrada FamiliaOn Sagrada Familia
On Sagrada Familia

Thought since it was a church, I could trust someone to take my picture and not run off with the camera. Just kidding.
Mosaic in CeilingMosaic in Ceiling
Mosaic in Ceiling

A violinist was playing in here while I took this picture. I enjoyed it so much I took a video clip of it.
Park GuellPark Guell
Park Guell

Uh huh, this is the gift shop. And yes, I did shop here.
So ArtsySo Artsy
So Artsy

This picture is of Antonio Gaudi's house in Park Guell.
Iberean Meats and CheeseIberean Meats and Cheese
Iberean Meats and Cheese

Served with incredible toasted bread with tomato.
Fried ArtichokesFried Artichokes
Fried Artichokes

With Romesco Sauce
DessertDessert
Dessert

Creme brulee with cava.


30th March 2011

wonderful!
Brendan, Marlene shared your travel blog link with me. I enjoy reading your daily logs and looking at your pictures. Looking forward to your next entry. Be careful!! "Tami K" Tami (Kritzler) Hastings
31st March 2011

I am HUNGRY!
Your pictures are amazing and I am so glad that you are having a great time! I still remember that one church as one of my favorite parts of Barcelona when I was there 35 years ago!!! You should see if you can see it lit up at night... awesome! I can also so picture you getting acousted by the "lady"! I was howling!!!!! Thanks for sharing... Love, Janie
31st March 2011

Thank you Tami and Janie. I'm glad that you are enjoying the postings. Sometimes I feel that I just ramble on, kind of like when I talk in real life. lol. Heading out to hopefully catch a tour here in a few minutes.
31st March 2011

fun
Looks like you are having a great time. Sure enjoy seeing the pictures. Thanks to Ted for sharing the blog address.
31st March 2011

The area looks so alive, I can't imagine what it s like in person! The colors, the architecture, the different textures-awesome! Must add-creme brulee - my fav- probably shouldn't have looked at that until after I ate my breakfast. Toast and a boiled egg just doesn't seem so appetizing right now. mmmph. Enjoy your day and be safe!
31st March 2011

Amazing
I would have to say that I have enjoyed reading about the beginning stages of your wonderful journey! The fried Artichokes look delicious, only because I absolutely love them. I'm looking forward to reading up on your daily adventures! Take care and enjoy :-)
31st March 2011

Thank you for such nice comments. I am having such a great time on this trip, so it is my pleasure to share it with you. I'm also glad I am not boring you yet.
31st March 2011

WOW
Great pics BV....sp wishing i was there with you. I'll have to come for a vist when you get back so you can tell me all about it. Have fun!!!
31st March 2011

Be Nice to the Ladies of Spain!
Hi Sweetheart! You look like you are enjoying yourself! I am enjoying your stories and sense of beauty. Love the pics! Everyone here is great. Board meeting went well and budget approved. Miss you! XoXo Kim

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb