Barcelona Beach Bum


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
October 10th 2010
Published: October 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After leaving my B&B, I headed to the beach. I am about a 15 minute subway ride to La Rambla. Upon arrival, I am given my room key and a wink at the Barcelo. I got a room with an ocean view (even though I didn’t pay for it). I opened the windows and smiled. My room is small, clean and absolutely perfect. After 3 weeks in Morocco and not sitting still for more than a few hours at a time, the beach is exactly what I needed.

I arrived at my new Beachfront hotel in the afternoon. I went to the shopping plaza a few blocks away to pick up bottled water, yogurt for breakfast, fruit, and some lunch foods (as I still have to budget here and there). In the evening, I took a walk along the beach. People are jogging, rollerblading, swimming, playing volleyball! There was even a rugby team practicing on the beach. It is quite lovely in this part of town. I assumed it was mostly tourists, but it is actually quite residential as well. Following my walk, I stopped at one of the ‘beach’ places for dinner. Within a few minutes, the couple sitting next to me couldn’t help but saying hi. They are a young couple from Moscow currently living in Sweden. Their English was near perfect. They tried convincing me how I must go to Russia, yet they were happy not to be living there anymore. I spent a few hours with the couple before we send out goodnights a little past midnight.

As soon as I woke up the next morning, I was heading to the beach. The beach reminded me of Long Beach, Long Island. The only difference was there were many boobs exposed all over the place. I watched a soccer team practice for about an hour, and then I finished up a book.

In the afternoon, I went to visit my friend Marisa who is visiting Barcelona. She is one of my friends that I met in Israel over 2 years ago. She was traveling with her boyfriend of 6 months. One word - adorable! Since I have known Marisa, I haven’t seen her with any of the guys she has dated. It was super sweet to see her and her man affectionate and sweet with each other. I am so happy that she met someone that makes her glow the way he does! I joined them for dinner after spending the afternoon at the pool with them at their hotel. I finally got to see La Rambla. We had dinner at a nice restaurant (which was the first nice one in a while). It was a nice treat with some great company.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb