It´s Not Spain! It´s Catalonia (Day 32)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
June 12th 2010
Published: June 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So today is a big day. For two reasons that have nothing to do with what I am doing today. First off, today marks a month´s worth of traveling for me. It has been an incredible trip so far and I cannot really describe it in a few words. A month sounds long but it has gone real quick and I feel like I am already counting down the days till I fly home even though I am far from halfway. As someone told me in Granada "The bug is real." Secondly, today is the start of the WORLD CUP! I am a little disappointed I will not be able to attend any football (soccer) matches while I am over here but this is a nice substitute. Just walking around today you can see how excited everyone is for it and I am guessing it is the same way all across Europe. All the bars and pubs have displays about when all the games are. Should be pretty cool to watch games with the locals when their nation is playing. Anyways, without further ado here are today´s events. Not every exciting but oh well.

Woke up to another ugly day
WCWCWC

thank you mr. green!
in Madrid after a late night out at the clubs, not really my style, but still a fun night. Got over to the Atocha station just in time for my three hour train ride over to Barcelona. Like most high speed trains they had a movie showing but like most times it was not very good. They had New Moon so I was obviously not too interested and spent most of my time reading my new Grisham book I picked up in Sevilla. The trip went quickly as did the walk to the hostel. This is the first time in a while I have not gotten lost looking for my hostel right off the train. Great success. Staying at the Yellow Nest Hostel in Barcelona for a couple of nights before moving closer to the action at Kabul. This place is pretty cool though. Nice roof terrace, pool table, movie room, etc. Settled in before heading down to watch the first World Cup match of the tournament with a group of people. Great match. After a long night in Madrid I just wanted to hang out tonight at the hostel and fortunately I did not succumb to anyones plans to
WC2WC2WC2

USA-England world cup match
head out for the night. Just spent the evening hanging out, shooting pool with a group of guys who go to Bucknell (small world) and this guy Bryce I met in Sevilla just a few days ago. Good times. Tomorrow I'll actually get out and check out the city. It will be nice to have a proper nights sleep before this.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb