Santa Caterina market and my search for casuelas


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
September 1st 2009
Published: September 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Street Art of BarcelonaStreet Art of BarcelonaStreet Art of Barcelona

I'd certainly prefer to see some colour on the roller doors rather than tagging.
Tuesday morning and its a pinch and a punch for the first of the month as I go in search for some casuelas.

For the first time I have really felt the humidity as I wandered through el Born in the Barrio Gotico . In summer it is always hot in the old part of town as the heat gets trapped in the narrow streets, however the humidity must be at record levels, you could almost feel steam rising in front of you.

First stop today was one of Barça's other fresh food markets at Santa Caterina. This is a market glistening with fresh seafood, skinned rabbits (with apologies to rabbit lovers) poultry, fresh eggs (sold individually and by size!) and the freshest fruit and vegetables. It may not have the reputation of el boqueria but it is a favourite with the locals.

After the market visit I headed into the labrynth that is the streets of the old part of town in search of a shop that sells casuelas you know them as the little terracotta bowls that your tapas arrives in at every run of the mill tapas restaurant. Easy to find no doubt in
A couple of localsA couple of localsA couple of locals

Two local donkeys reviewing the scene below.
Barcelona. Well... no they are not!

I must have snaked my way up and down at least 30 streets and passed by a street musician playing his pan pipes at least three times. There is something quite haunting and yet at the same time annoying about the sound of pan pipes- even more annoying if you pass by a player three times in 15 minutes!

Frustratingly I couldnt find a single shop that sells casuelas. In the end I gave up and will resume my search later in the week.

It was back to the apartment for a blast of airconditioning and a beverage before heading out in the afternoon to the Barcelona City History museum a mere two minute walk from Argenteria (my street).

Oh and I spent about an hour working out how to use my washing machine. The challenge will be hanging it out. I may have to do what my neighbours are doing, hanging it out on my balcony. Better make sure it is all securely fastened as I dont want any of my laundry landing on the heads of unsuspecting locals below!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

When in BarcelonaWhen in Barcelona
When in Barcelona

I noted the technique,my only problem is the lack of string! I've managed to peg my clothes to the rort iron of my balcony...could be a big mistake. Will let you know!
Santa Caterina MarketSanta Caterina Market
Santa Caterina Market

Just like the Boqueria the quality and variety of produce is extensive, though unlike the Boqueria it doesnt the numbers of tourists (only the street smart ones obviously!)
I had to take a photoI had to take a photo
I had to take a photo

I have a real weakness for olives, I bought nearly a bucket's worth I think!


2nd September 2009

Try asking for "cazuelas" -"cazuelas de barro"- instead (Pronounced "kathooehlas"). I think you can find them at any supermarket or potery shop or even in chinese cheap 'all 1 euro' shops.
2nd September 2009

Thanks
thanks very much for the advice!

Tot: 0.333s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb