Sitges and FC Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
September 17th 2008
Published: September 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

View of SitgesView of SitgesView of Sitges

Here's is the beach at Sitges!
So I have done a few more exciting things these past couple days! My friends and I took a 45 minute train that cost only 5.20 euro round trip to Sitges, a small beach town outside of Barcelona. We prepared ourselves as we knew Sitges was a vacationing hot spot for gay/lesbian crowd! haha! Though we did see our share of men in tiny "swimsuits," Sitges was definitely a sight! The church that overlooks the ocean was gorgeous, with a small market behind it and the beach all together was less crowded than the beaches at Barcelona. Small shops and boutiques lined the narrow streets, but whatever you do, do not eat at the Heineken-sponsored restaurant! Awful service and lax health codes for sure! Speaking of health codes, I really don't feel like there are many here in Spain, but I'm guessing this to be true for the rest of Europe too! I'm sure I'll find out soon enough!

Then on Tuesday night, 6 girls and I ventured to the FC Barcelona game! They played Lisboa Sporting and defeated them 3-1! My friends and I bought our tickets from scalpers and it was quite an experience getting in... as we
The Church at SitgesThe Church at SitgesThe Church at Sitges

Here is the church on the ocean front
used id's with men's faces on them, posing as season ticket holders and getting split up, but we finally all made it back together to watch a great game! The game etiquette and atmosphere is extremely different than any sporting event I had ever been to. They are much more serious about their futbol! The crowd only stands when something important happens, and we sit for the rest of the game. There are no vendors walking up and down the aisles selling concessions. They sing, they cheer, I even saw a 12 year old flip off the referee after a bad call! I definitely want to get back to a game but it was really awesome and well worth the 35 euro ticket price we paid!

Classes have finally begun here in Barcelona, so I'll actually have to start buckling down and doing work... we'll see how that goes for me, but I'm very excited about my travel writing, mediterranean oceanography, and contemporary history of spain classes. Each something new for me! Well that's it for now from me, but Abigail is leaving for London today so wish her all luck! She also started a blog if anyone wants
another viewanother viewanother view

here's another view
to check it out!

until next entry....



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

FC Barcelona GameFC Barcelona Game
FC Barcelona Game

A view from our seats, thank you zoom!
Jordann and I at the GameJordann and I at the Game
Jordann and I at the Game

Cheering on Barca to Victory!
Las ChicasLas Chicas
Las Chicas

Getting 7 scalped tickets together was hard work!


19th September 2008

Lorena-I love all of your entries and pictures! I almost feel as if I'm there! I miss you tons! I can't wait to hear about October Fest! Oh and sorry about the other night on facebook, my computer was going crazy! I am thinking about you! I love you! -B

Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb