Bienvenida a Barcelona!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
September 12th 2008
Published: September 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Plaza CatalunyaPlaza CatalunyaPlaza Catalunya

Photo taken from Plaza Catalunya- Barcelona
Hola de Barcelona!

I have been in Spain for almost two weeks now and have only had a glimpse of the beauty this country has to offer. Everyone told me they would speak English in Barcelona, but that is definitely not the case! I'm using the Spanish skills that I have, but everyone speaks so much faster than me and I always ask people to repeat things to me several times before I understand the first half of their sentences. But, I am trying and it is getting a bit easier everyday. Barcelona is a huge city with lots to offer. I take the train, the lovely L7/brown line from my apartment to Plaza Catalunya, a central hub in Barcelona.

My first few days were spent recovering from jet lag and exploring Plaza Catalunya and Barri Gotic (the Gothic Quarter). European cities are so much more compact and concentrated than anywhere in the U.S. It's a bit overwhelming at times, but I am beginning to adjust.

Barcelona has great architecture, from the Gaudi masterpieces to any apartment buildings. Anywhere you look, you will see a building that has character! You could simply wander the streets for hours and
El CatedralEl CatedralEl Catedral

El Catedral de Barcelona, located in Barri Gotic
be perfectly content looking only at what's above you.

It will take me 3 months just to discover all the Barcelona has to offer, not to mention all the wonderful places I want to travel!

Over my first weekend in Spain, my program took us on an orientation trip to Peniscola and Valencia. The first day we went to Peniscola, a small town a few hours south of Barcelona. The ocean views were terrific and the beach was lined with people. Spaniards are not embarrassed by their bodies as men and women of all shapes and sizes flocked to the beach in a variety of speedos and bikinis. Restaurants lined the street facing the ocean.

After lunch, I headed to the castle and church that sits atop Peniscola that was home to Pope Benedic XIII or Papa Luna as they called him. The view was spectacular from the top of the castle, but the inside was mostly bare.

After our stop in Peniscola, we rode our lovely bus to Valencia. Valencia was much bigger than I would have suspected. My hotel, NH Hotel Las Aretes was very nice and quite reasonably priced! The next day we
Barri GoticBarri GoticBarri Gotic

Near the Cathedral in Barri Gotic
spent the day walking the historic parts of the city. As promised, it was gorgeous, but with my tour guide speaking only Spanish to us, a lot of the history flew right over my head.

After the walking tour, we went to L'Oceanograpahic, Valencia's aquarium! It was wonderful! Beluga whales, dolphin shows, walruses, seals, birds galore, sharks. It was definitely memorable! The next day we hit the port and the beach, again with spectacular views! Then we hopped back on our bus for the 5 hour ride back to Barcelona!

Those were the highlights of my orientation trip! I'll be posting shortly as I'm staying in tonight!




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The Castle in PeniscolaThe Castle in Peniscola
The Castle in Peniscola

Here is the Castle overlooking Peniscola and the Mediterranean
La PlayaLa Playa
La Playa

The beach at Peniscola
The CastleThe Castle
The Castle

Inside the castle
At the CastleAt the Castle
At the Castle

Melissa and I at the castle
ValenciaValencia
Valencia

And here is Valencia!
TowerTower
Tower

Tower in Valencia
L'OceanographicL'Oceanographic
L'Oceanographic

The dolphin show was great!
Valencia at NightValencia at Night
Valencia at Night

The buildings speak for themselves!


13th September 2008

Lauren--Abby sent me your blog address and I'm looking forward to reading about your trip! Have fun! XOXO T

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.1mb