Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
May 21st 2008
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

IsabelIsabelIsabel

In Barcelona. My fabulous couchsurfing .com host.
One night in Barcelona:

In March, after the 2 week cruise, I stayed in Barcelona for 5 nights. I never got around to blogging the time there and my camera broke, so all my pictures were ruined. I am now returning to Barcelona for only one night, after which, I am flying to London to meet up with my friend, Tricia. She is going to be traveling with me for the next 10 days.

Bus to and from Airport $12, Lodging $0 (couchsurfing.com), food $0 (my kind host treated), metro ticket $0 (Ant, the Aussie I met in Istanbul, gave me a multi ticket which still had some rides left).

I found a place to couchsurf this time around in Barcelona. I stayed with a couple, Ferdinand and Isabel. They had to have been two of the most interesting people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Isabel midwifed for many years and her and Ferdinand met, as revolutionaries (they lived together for several years before even knowing each other's real names) during the Franco regime.

Isabel took me to Park Guell, which was beautiful with all the Gaudi elements. After the park, she took to
BarcelonaBarcelonaBarcelona

From Park Guell
a local place for tapas, which were huge and delicious. There was a plate of fried potato wedges, half covered in a spicy red sauce and the other half was covered with a garlic mayo type of sauce. We also had a plate of sliced potatoes (from the northern? celtic area of Spain...the best potatoes in Spain) covered with a layer of very thinly sliced ham (also a local special) and some spices. Even though I don't normally eat ham (probably not in 20+ years), I had a little and it was so delicious.

I left for the airport, by bus/metro, around 6:30 the morning of the 21st, to head to London.





Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Park Guell
GaudiGaudi
Gaudi

Barcelona


Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 24; qc: 100; dbt: 0.0943s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb