EuroTrip Day 20


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
June 26th 2008
Published: June 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

(Preface: You'll notice I have a camera again and was able to add pics! )

I woke up today full surprisingly full of energy. After the great time last night, I woke up with a renewed zest for adventure...... well, not that the zest had left me.... it was just magnified today.

I got up somewhat early considering the 6am bedtime. I decided to just walk around and get lost for a while. I came across a small hidden church in one of the neighborhoods I checked out. For those of you that know me, know I'm not religious, but I stopped in, said a few prayers/thanks for the trip and the health of friends and fam, etc. Pretty cool experience overall. Some of the people there really got into it and just burst into tears. I didn't want to take pics inside, so I took a pic from outside (I know...... not too classy haha).

Since I now have a camera again, I then decided to go La Sagrada Familia again. There was no way I could leave Barcelona without taking some pics of it. As you know, it's not finished, but the exterior is still pretty impressive. You'll be able to check it out in the pics. Also, if you ever go, I highly recommend paying the 2Euros to take the elevator up to the top for great panoramic views of Barcelona. I chilled there for a while, listened to some great tunes on my iPod and thought about life. If you ever travel solo, you'll notice you'll do that a lot.

After La Sagrada familia, I wandered around Barcelona checking out several neighborhoods. I also came across the Arc de Triomf here in Barcelona. Also stopped by La Plaza de Catalunya and Las Ramblas. You guys will finally get to see what it looks like. I think it's a little overrated, but still cool to walk here and there. However, there's a bunch of street performers with really lame gimmicks to try to get change from tourists. Oh well, they have to make a living somehow.

By this time I was pretty damn tired so I headed back to the hostel. Ended up hanging out with some people from the hostel and having a couple drinks and just chatting it up for a few hours. Anyways, I gotta get going so I'll talk to you guys later 😊
At about 2 or 3pm I noticed I hadnt eaten all day, so I decided to go to my favorite restaurant out here. I don't remember if I mentioned it in one of my last blogs, but this place is AMAZING! If you guys come to Barcelona you have to eat there. It's located on 8-10 Passeig de Gracia. I added a pic of some of the tapas I got. You'll notice on that plate I got 5 total tapas and 3 of them are the same. That's the Bidasoa.......mmmmm. It's a tapas that's salmon wrapping crab and some mayo and there's a really bomb sauce on top. Then all that is on a piece of bread and lettuce. SOOOOOOOOOO tasty.

I then headed over to some of Gaudi's architectural masterpieces Casa Barttlo and Casa Mila. They were ok, but not really my style. I decided to skip the museums inside since they didn't really catch my attention anyways.

P.S. the graffiti you see on the Sagrada familia steps was not me. I took a pic of the "Viva Turko" cause I have a friend we call Turko and thought he'd get a kick out of it. The other "Holy Shit" one just made me laugh since it was in a Cathedral.





Additional photos below
Photos: 99, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



28th June 2008

Photo 85, inspiration for my next writing installment. Took my breath away, I must go there someday.
2nd July 2008

I will take credit for photo 77 even though this is a take two! ;)

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0817s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb