Notes from Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
September 11th 2007
Published: September 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post


Dear family and friends,
Well the adventure continues...we spent some time on the beach yesterday after an overcast day cleared up and bathed us with sun. The water was a nice temperature, and the waves were coming in strong and gracefully. I have not been in the ocean for nearly seven years, it was a bit overwhelming. I am a strong swimmer but I felt small and afraid. The day for me didn't begin well as I felt lightheaded and extremely tired. On our way to the beach Greg was trying to convince me to go back to our apartment to rest. I wanted to push on and not waste a minute of this precious time. The walk to Barceloneta beach takes about twenty minutes. Fifteen minutes in Greg hailed a taxi- I honestly felt like I would collapse. The sun felt good, and the ocean air did well for my fatigue. I think going in the water was pushing it. Hopefully we will have time to go back and enjoy the water. Today we attempted to go to the Picasso museum but the line was dreadfully long. We revised our plan and headed to Montjuric (a mountain overlooking the city). The wait for the cable car took about an hour and fifteen minutes . What a spectacular view! Montjuric is a beautiful mountain. Joan Miro gardens, a botanical garden, a grand castle with panoramic views of Barcelona, which houses a military museum. We spent almost five hours walking and I believe we could have spent days exploring. We finished our way down and looked at the National Museum of Art from the outside. This majestic building is breathtaking. Today, September 11 is the National Day of Catalunya so the streets are full and spanish flags are flying. Rallies are taking place at many different locations and the energy is immense. We are going to try to have dinner at a place we have passed a few times but can never seem to find when we are looking for it. Tommorow we will try Picasso again and we have a sailing trip in the evening. Much love.


Sam

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb