Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
August 22nd 2007
Published: August 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Barcelona


Mercat de la BoqueriaMercat de la BoqueriaMercat de la Boqueria

It is the most famous market in Barcelona. "Mercat" means Market in Catalan. The main official language in Barcelona called “Catalan” not Spanish. People regard Catalan as somewhere in between Spanish and French. However Spanish is still widely used. I had no problem to practise my Spanish but of course, most of the time I don’t understand what they said. In fact, I found that they are happy when I tried to speak Spanish with them, some of them even taught me some words with enthusiasm.
Travel Period: 9 - 13 Aug 2007

I have always dreamed of going to Spain ever since I started learning Spanish when I was 20 years old. I can’t really believe that I make it today - after 7 years.

I was flying with Ryanair to Girona, which is about 100km away from Barcelona. I was lucky enough to buy the cheapest ticket, but the travel time between Girona and Barcelona and the bus fees incurred could offset the cheap ticket to Girona. Actually bus fee is more expensive than air ticket.

London - Girona: flight £16 (incl. tax)
Girona - Barcelona: bus £8

Barcelona - Girona: bus £8
Girona - London: flight £7 (incl. tax)

I always hate travel by flight - it is probably the worst transport mode for travelling. Unreasonably long queuing time, unfriendly small cabin which doesn’t allow you to stretch your body unless you are in business class, not able to see the surrounding views, limited weight of luggage, plus the recent restrictions at London airport that hand carry liquid bottles (e.g. shampoo, deodorant) must not be more than 100ml.

London and Barcelona is around 700 miles apart, only 2 hrs by flight. But in fact, it took me 8 hrs to get to Barcelona, door-to-door from where I left in London till I stepped into the hostel. One day is gone. If I could have other choices, taking flight would always be my last choice.




Additional photos below
Photos: 88, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Busy StreetBusy Street
Busy Street

Barcelona is quite cosmopolitan. Many people are either from other parts of Spain or other countries. I always asked where they come from because I believe by knowing the demographic structure, it helps to gain some insights about the city.
Park GüellPark Güell
Park Güell

It is one of the UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Barcelona and by far my favourite place in Barcelona (haven’t visited all places so it’s just a tentative conclusion). It a big park decorated with many interesting architectural elements designed by Antoni Gaudi, built from 1900-1914. Many of his works resemble the form of nature, e.g sea waves, tree trunks, shells, leaves, branches. The best thing is, it’s free! No entrance fee except the little Gaudi Museum.
Park GüellPark Güell
Park Güell

A hall in the park
Park GüellPark Güell
Park Güell

There are some mosaic "plates" on the ceiling.
Park GüellPark Güell
Park Güell

Plate on the ceiling. Not quite sure what the symbol means. Kind of pagan thing?
Park GüellPark Güell
Park Güell

This structure resembles sea waves
Park GüellPark Güell
Park Güell

The top of the poles behind the palm trees resemble bird nest. Gaudi liked to use the concept of nature to design his works.
Park GüellPark Güell
Park Güell

Side view of the main terrace in Park Güell
Park GüellPark Güell
Park Güell

mosaic work on the twisting bench at the main terrace


25th August 2007

nice !
luv ur photos...gorgeous place...make sure you go with me again next year (u know wat I'm talking abt right?)
25th August 2007

Impressive!
Hey, kong way, your life in England is just so wonderful. Now I understand why Barcelona is a must go attraction in Europe. So how much spanish had u reserved for this trip since ur spanish learning in taiwan? ha... and i like La Sagrada Família the most!! it is simply amazing!! i really hope to go there one day to look at it in details. since it is not completed by gaudi yet, so is spanish doing anything to it now? keep on developing by another artish or what? I think if i were in barcelon i will surely spoil my camera cuz i will take tons fo photographs. ha... Seems like u r still enjoying ur "full time" travelling and "part time" working in London woh, hope u keep up with ur spirit and live it to the fullest lar!! :-)
25th August 2007

Jesus 33
I saw an interesting article related to number 33. just to share with u. According to bible, at birth Gold was given to Jesus (visitors gave gold to baby jesus as gift) and at death he was sold for Silver (Judah betrayed Jesus for Silver Coins). So His life journey started with gold and ended with silver. So GOLD – SILVER = IRON + 33 The atomic weight of gold is 197, silver is 108, iron is 56. Iron (Fe) is the Cornerstone of Universe because Iron (Fe) is the most stable element. In between gold and silver, Jesus (the cornerstone of universe) lived 33 years. Ha, quite an interesting calculation.
27th August 2007

Damn it! I don see any topless Spainish bitches in the beach!
30th August 2007

Nick, if u come here i will bring u to nudist beach, even better! Not only topless but also "bottomless"...
30th August 2007

Boon, very interesting facts about 33. Not only in Christianity but in other cultures/religions 33 are always cited as an important figure. Take mathematics for example, 33 is the highest integral figure which cannot be divided by other number (the lowest is 1, then 3, 5, 7...etc)

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb