Barcelona is Accepting


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
March 17th 2007
Published: October 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

it is our two month anniversary.
how sweet!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

The CityThe City
The City

the city gave me a job on the first day and then a flat on the second...so i said, "okay, i am in." And that is our story, we have been together ever since.
Mi Barrio/Poblacion: EL BORNMi Barrio/Poblacion: EL BORN
Mi Barrio/Poblacion: EL BORN

I live next to the Parc de la Ciutadella, close to the expansive Flea Market of everything, in between brick-chimmney remains where ancient factories, shunting yards, and seaside warehouses once operated. looking down my street, "La Mariana," Gaudi's Sagrada Familia towers look like a sand castle peaks in the distance or a fairy castle by night. . . i have been there once; it is fantastic.
in the afternoon..market, cafe, filmin the afternoon..market, cafe, film
in the afternoon..market, cafe, film

The city provides for the people: always a free movie, outside jazz, museum to see, or telescopes in the park..... the streets get hosed down everynight at midnight (i walk on the wet stones after work) despite the serious drought in Spain....(good??/bad??)
the park is my favorite placethe park is my favorite place
the park is my favorite place

everyday i take a nap in the park, walk 45 min. to work, and usually have coffee and some hard-almond-sugar cookie.
my first face in the morningmy first face in the morning
my first face in the morning

this is what i look like when i wake up on a sunny morning
outside my windowoutside my window
outside my window

Emme turned 80 this last week, lives on the bottom floor with the terazzo, has a suitcase of black and white portraits from when her twenties in Lebannon, over fifty dog racing trophies, and plates depicting Greek myths she does not understand. She leaves our fallen laundary hanging in the stairwell. We became friends when my glass jars full of basil, cilantro seeds, and tissue fell and shattered on her terrazzo. She was angry, so we shared tea and chocolate and now we are friends.
el equipo de argentinael equipo de argentina
el equipo de argentina

because my flat-mate, Bruno, and most of the flat neighbors are from Argentina, so are the flat's regulars.
a corner of my studioa corner of my studio
a corner of my studio

i spread clutter from corner to corner in some chaotic order...what they would call: SENY (common sense) and RAUXA (creative chaos) in CatalĂ .
Melinda, Ana and iMelinda, Ana and i
Melinda, Ana and i

Melinda works at the Bar at the hostel and Ana serves the breakfast. Here we are breakfasting at my flat.
Santa Maria Del MarSanta Maria Del Mar
Santa Maria Del Mar

I often find myself marching in step with an antsy street flow, and then, without any notice, plumeting through the heavy doors of one of the thousand hidden cathedrals : to find the quiet.
Hostel ReceptionHostel Reception
Hostel Reception

This was my first week working at the Hostel: Jessica, me, and Marianna. The hostel crew has turned into something like my extended family. . . everyone behind the desk is Spanish (excpet for me), the cleaning ladies are from Ecuador, the Bartenders from Tenessee and Ireland, and Ana, the breakfast server is Australian. It is a good job these days.
In Park GuellIn Park Guell
In Park Guell

It is spring!
The Blank Canvas of TodayThe Blank Canvas of Today
The Blank Canvas of Today

after a gallery space told me that i could hang in July IF i could put up larger works for their large walls, i walked out in the street and found these very large stretcher bars waiting for me by the garbage. . . you know: sometimes when you start looking, you start finding.
Looking at the DucksLooking at the Ducks
Looking at the Ducks

in the Cathedral Center Garden


29th March 2007

Argentinos: buena gente

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb