Update


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Valladolid
January 24th 2008
Published: January 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Erica y YoErica y YoErica y Yo

Erica & Me at the Gym Bym Cena (dinner) at Restaurante Asturias in November
¡Hola!

I apologize ahead of time for my negligence. I know it's been forever since I've blogged, but life has been crazy...but a good crazy.

Let's see, I don't remember my last entry exactly, but as a brief update the Christmas holiday were ultra-long here (since they celebrate the 3 Wise Men we didn't go back to work until Jan 8!!!) I actually got bored because the gym hours were messed up & most of my friends went home (aka, England, Scotland, etc.) I went to Lyon, France for 4 days to visit my friend Aaron & his family that live there. Iwas there for Christmas Eve & Christmas.

New Years Eve was great!!! NO restaurants were open, so my 2 American friends & I were starving & were disillusioned that we couldn't even get a pizza. We ended up at the only place that is guaranteed to be open every day of the year...'el chino' or the chinese restaurant. It was fabulous. Then we went to the Plaza Mayor & ate the obligatory 12 grapes at midnight! That's the tradition here, at the stroke of midnight on New Years Eve you must eat 12 grapes before the
NosotrasNosotrasNosotras

The Girls at our Christmas farewell gathering at LAS HORAS LENTAS (my usual hang out after the gym). From L to R...me (duh), Ann Marie (scotland), Sofía (US), Emma (London), Amy (US), Jo (Manchester, England)
bell stops tolling...very fun.

We dodged the numerous fireworks & eventually met up with a bunch of our friends & of course were out until well past 7 am.

Other than that I haven't travelled really at all because I have no money.

I've been spending a lot of time with my 'chico' (I hate the word, novio, or boyfriend.) He's super cute. His name is Carlos, but everyone calls him 'Ruso.' Ruso means the Russian. They call him this because, even though he's purely Spanish they think he looks foreign. He's got lighter colored hair (which they call blonde, but to me it's not blonde) & blue eyes. He's super cute, super sweet & we have fun!

School is going very well. Nothing new on this end, but that's OK because I'm actually mostly satisfied with the way things are going.

This weekend I'm thinking of taking a day trip on Sunday to a small village called Tordesillas. It should only cost about $7 or so for a round trip bus ticket since it's only about 1/2 hour away from Valladolid. I'd also like to go somewhere for Carnaval, which is next week, but I haven't made any concrete plans yet.

Actually, next week Saturday night I am going to an espectáculo (show) of 'boys' as they call it. yes, strippers. Apparently they celebrate something called the Aguedas when women dominate. The girls from the gym have invited me & my Scottish friend, Ann Marie to go with them to dinner & the 'espectáculo de los boys.' Yes, it is actually called this. I am excited. I believe I will wear my new boots.

What else...well, my 2 aunts & their husbands are coming to visit me in March! That will be great. Will be fun to travel & will be great to see some familiar faces.

Hopefully this keeps you all up to speed on my life. As you can see, I am over my Christmas rut of feeling homesick & am starting to enjoy Spanish lifestyle again. That is to say, I am partying a lot, working a little, making a ton of new friends & speaking a lot of Spanish...life is good.

Oh, please note that if you click on Photos above, I have added a couple of pics for your viewing pleasure.

I hope all is well with the rest of you. Please take care. & ....STAY IN TOUCH!!!

BESOS Y ABRAZOS

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0844s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb