Home sweet Home


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León
November 21st 2007
Published: November 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Erica & I caught the 12:30 am bus to Valladolid, meaning we rolled into Valladolid around 3 am. I was exhausted, but every time I travel outside of Valladolid I always seem to feel so comfortable & happy coming back.

I had school the next morning, so I dumped Erica off with Alberto in the Plaza Mayor at 10 am. They spent the day catching up & I was at school, tired, but content with having my sister here in Spain with me! Having a familiar face in a foreign country gives you a certain kind of energy that you don't usually have. I can't say that I feel lonely here, but I guess I just feel more fulfilled having someone here that I know.

Erica & Alberto & I went to lunch at the restaurant he took me to one time before where you can grill meat right at your table. We ate Bull's meat. Actually, i liked it. I got a little tipsy & it was only like 3 pm, then I had to try & give a private English lesson afterwards. I was in a good mood for my lesson!

Tuesday night I brought Erica to Batuka with me. Batuka is the Brazilian dance class I have been enjoying at my gym lately. She loved it! She did a GREAT job, especially for not speaking spanish! She seemed to understand the instructions pretty well even though they were not at all in English!

Wedneday Erica came to school with me & had a great time. I have to admit I think my students like her much more than they like me. Oh well. I'm the one who gets to give the grades, not her, suckers! Just kidding.

Tuesday night we went with my friend Emma & the secretary of my school, Mari Carmen & her husband Manolo to one of my favorite restaurants called 'La Parrilla de San Lorenzo.' They specialize in Lechazo, which is lamb. It is sooo delicious. It's the most beautiful restaurant as well because it's in an old Bodega (wine cellar) & it's the old, beautiful building.

I decided I wasn't in the mood for Lechazo, even though I really do enjoy it. I saw something on the menu that came with almonds & fruit sauce. It sounded really good, but I had no idea what Avestruz was. In fact, most things on this particular menu I don't understand.

Mari carmen said that Avestruz is 'a big bird.' OK, I like chicken & turkey, i can handle birds. The plate came to me & It was as beautiful as could be. I gobbled up the entire dish (minus the pate which I have never liked).

It was only later that evening at my favorite bar, La Negra Flor, when I was speaking with the owner, carlos, did I realize what I had eaten. OK folks, Avestruz....is.....OSTRICH!!! OMG!!! Can you believe that I ate ostrich!?!? I can't. I guess it was a good thing I didn't know what it was because I wouldn't have eaten it, had I known, & I suppose it was a good experience for me....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb