Ages to Burgos


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Burgos
September 11th 2017
Published: September 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

We overslept a bit and didn't leave the Albergue until after 7am, and decided to eat breakfast at the only place open in Ages, El Alquemista. After a quick meal of normal tortilla de patatas and coffee, we headed to Atapuerca, only about 2 kilometers away. Atapuerca is a famous World Heritage site where I think they found the remains of the oldest humans. Since we weren't tourists, we had a long day ahead, and it wasn't open that early, we continued on to Cardenuela Riopico, another 6 kilometers along. We made our first stop there at Bocaterio San Miguel. Besides the usual coffee, I couldn't resist a delicious looking cream filled long John.

At this point, it was getting close to noon and we still had almost 14 kilometers to go to Burgos, so we plotted on. The young lady with us was having a problem with her Achilles heel, so Raresh and I had to slow or wait for her. After a brief stop in Orbaneja for some stretching, she was doing better. We had opted for the alternate trail through Villafria, and after plodding around the ugly airport fence and across a highway bridge, we spotted the Cafeteria Tiffanys. We sat down, took our backpack and shoes, and I enjoyed a cafe con leche.

I was so glad we stopped there because for the next two hours we walked along a major industrial area, then the streets of the newer part of Burgos before finally reaching our albergue, the municipal albergue of Burgos. I had objected to staying there because they didn't have Wi-Fi, but it was the only inexpensive one of any size, so we'd have no problem getting 4 beds. The albergue is very clean and modern, with elevators even. Thank heavens, because our beds were on the 7th floor!

After checking in and stowing our gear, we went across the street for lunch at the Cafe Babia. The other 3 had a craving for pizza, but I ordered tapas of shrimp, tortilla, and peppers. They were very good and several euros cheaper than their pizzas. After lunch, Juan and I walked around old Burgos a bit, checking out the cathedral (where I bought a thimble), and looking for a supermarket to shop at for dinner, and a mail box for Raresh. After I returned to the albergue, I spent the rest of the evening doing laundry, fixing my dinner, and working on the blog. For dinner, I had a delicious lasagne, and a couple mangoes that I had stupidly paid too much for. Oh well, they were delicious and I love mangoes. Besides, I caught a bit of cold yesterday with a sore throat and this evening have a runny nose, so they should help.

Tomorrow I think we are going about 21 kilometers to Hornillos del Camino.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement




Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb