holy toledo!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
October 11th 2006
Published: October 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me in ToledoMe in ToledoMe in Toledo

okay so i look like a big dork here...but here´s a pic to proove i am on this vacation haha
So we went to Toledo, Spain which is right outside of Madrid by an hour bus ride. Toledo is most famous for it´s cathedral...therefore, I have a lot of pictures of it on here. Construction began in 1226 and lasted 250 years... can you believe that?

We visited Santo Tome, a 14th century church where St. Augustine and St. Stephen were said to have visited for the burial of a local count. El Greco painted a replica of the famous burial which includes both saints, angels, and the keys to heaven. It´s a fabulous work of art, and sorry because pictures are not allowed of anything there.

We had a nice lunch at a pizza place of sorts but of course it was ¨Spanish¨pizza only. I had pizza Iberica - cheese, sauce, bacon, and pepperoni. I could really use some Chicago pizza right about now... haha.

We returned later that night and went out to Friday´s which was nice! I´m really missing food from home now I guess... I needed chicken fingers and pizza that day I suppose!

I am actually getting homesick lately. I miss hearing people´s voices, physically seeing my friends and family, etc. I
Friends in ToledoFriends in ToledoFriends in Toledo

April, Sharon and Wes in the city
want to go home for the weekend and go downtown Chicago or see an American movie...

However, I did go to the Spanish cine to see ¨Volver¨last night with the group though. This Spanish film stars Penelope Cruz (and who better but a Spanish actress...). We had a talk and dinner with Jose Luis who is an author and movie director (anyone see ¨The Others¨ ? That was his work.) I believe he has won an oscar or two as well. I have to check up on my facts but the guy was really nice and interesting to talk to.

This morning tragedy struck as I was curling my hair. Something about the voltage, outlets, etc. is just messed up in Europe and my curling iron overheated and burnt off a full CHUNK of my hair. It isn´t on the top layer but I am feeling rather ¨goofy¨ looking at the moment on account of this tragic incident. So I guess I will have to continue using April´s straightener...because my straightener was about to do the same thing my curling iron did the only time I tried to use that!

I´m a little stressed out...for my hair
CathedralCathedralCathedral

One of the rooms in the cathedral...I loved the ceiling!
and for other reasons. I am having some kind of allergic reaction to a food or cleaning product from my homestay and I have a little bit of a rash on my arms... nothing unsightly, but just enough to make me itch.

All these problems!! I wish I could be back home sometimes because these things are getting on my nerves... haha.

In other news, April and I finally found El Secreto... a tapas-sangria-beer place of sorts. This place was recommended to me from my ISU peers and we had a nice time there the other night just people watching on a busy street. We witnessed a fight just a few feet from us though which was really scary. Some guy was getting punched and kicked in the face very brutally. Later, the police came and the poor guy looked disastrous. I´ve never seen a REAL fight like that. I just hope I stay safe as there are crazy people everywhere...especially in a big city with 5 million people.

All the best,
Theresa


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

SkylightSkylight
Skylight

This skylight in the cathedral was like looking up into heaven (literally) with all the angels and saints... possibly the most glorious thing I have seen to date.
CourtyardCourtyard
Courtyard

Wes in the courtyard within the cathedral
CathedralCathedral
Cathedral

Me at the main gate of the cathedral
Santo TomeSanto Tome
Santo Tome

a replica of Santo Tome (church where El Greco´s most famous painting resides) made entirely of pan (bread!). You can see my reflection in the window... We also saw the real Santo Tome and the El Greco haha.
CathedralCathedral
Cathedral

a side view of the cathedral and bell tower


11th October 2006

beautiful sites
How beautiful your pictures are, nothing like the US.
15th October 2006

yo yo
Hey Theresa! Love the pics in here! Spain looks awesome, I hope you are having a good time minus the whole hair thing...that is kind of scary. I'll keep that in mind if I ever go there lol. Ttyl!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb