Road-trip to the northern Spain � Through France and San Sebastian


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
February 3rd 2013
Published: February 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Last December we decided to take a road-trip from The Netherlands to Spain, yes in December! We survived the constant rainy days, a luckily change of climate, but the best was to stop at Pastisserie’s for coffee and a treat!



France was stunningly beautiful; we discover that my French is not that bad and people will understand me; obviously we will all laugh at some point. My French has history; it brings me back in 2008 when my cousin and I did a backpack trip through Europe (not really a ‘back pack’, we had high hills and pretty dresses!) Once we were in Paris, my cousin and I were at a restaurant, the food was dry and not to our taste, I continue to complain in French, we went back and forward, after constant laughs we left with our money back and tears of laughs. Why is it so funny? No clue, but so therapeutic!



We drove through lovely towns, stayed at cute French b&b’s but our destination was Spain as we rushed to get there!



We, finally, arrived at San Sebastian, a Basque Country; beautifully clean and elegant, with an architecture that will make you gasp from left to right.

We had blue skies and the sun was shining (we haven’t seen that in days, my body was in much need of vitamin D after all those cloudy days!)



San Sebastian has a historical city center, where you can find shopping stores, Markets de la Bretxa (3 of them), delicious tapas bars (especially on Fermin Calbeton Kalea street, which it is the MAIN street for best restaurants!) and the beautiful San Sebastian Cathedral’s. Also, not too miss the fact that the beach, which is just walking distance, is also for surfers (surfing classes are offered just across the street from the beach!)





Staying in San Sebastian is not complicated; there are plenty of hotel, b&b’s, pensions, etc. But one that you should go, at least for ‘teatime’ it’s the Hotel Maria Cristina – San Sebastian’s main Hotel, like The Plaza is for New York City… It is elegant, expensive and classy. It’s all about location and, of course, the pleasure to feel like royalty!



I always ask myself if I would live in the city I’m visiting, there has been just a few times that I had said YES! And San Sebastian its on that list!



More about Spain to come! Stay tuned!



Find us on Facebook Crowns + lola or on twitter @crownslola or subscribe to our website Crowns + Lola

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb