Week Two...Is it?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
September 17th 2007
Published: September 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Current local: San Sebastian. Spain.

It´s a warm rainy day in San Sebastain. The Atlantic flows in and out of grey, aqua marine blue and turquoise green. The beaches are large and because of the intermintent thunder and lightening, realitively empty. It hasn´t seemed to stopped the amazingly tanned locals-mostly older men going for a mid afternoon swim.

Yesterday, though, we were in Barcelona and it all that amazing art got under my skin. Now all i want to do is find a little village by the sea, preferably the Mediteranean, rent a room in a simple, cheap and clean hostel or pension and write, write, write. Between the Picasso Musuem and Gaudi´s everything, I haven´t felt so overwhelmed by artistic genius in a long time. Although, painting nor architechture or sculpture isn´t my forte, I learned more about how to write by witnessing the progression of Picasso´s paintings through out his life. Although his earlier works are very good realistic renderings, they are academic excirsises. The museam is structured chronologically so that by the time I came to the Picasso we all know and love, I was bursting at the seams for want of color, vibrancy and a representation of life that was not cookie cutter, but intersting and all about essence verses representation. It is still a face regardless of where an eye or an ear falls. A smile is still a smile even if it where a nose ¨should¨be. There was a special exhibition about Lee Miller, a wonderful woman whose photographs and life was so inspiring. I could have spent hours absorbing how she viewed the world and watching Picasso and his life through her eyes.

And Gaudi. My God. I am still reveling and tying to close my gaping jaw over his incredible ability to dream and make that a reality. The city of barcelona is still building his Church! 100 years later and the reality of his art is continuing to be brought to life. That might be the best display of faith I have ever seen. Such faith in Life, Art and Beauty. I only hope that I can see it completed in my lifetime....then again, that may not be the point.

Barcelona is such a curvy, hot and alive city. No wonder such wonderful artists have come out of spain. Two days was not nearly enough, but as I keep telling myself, I am moving not Barcelona.

See Mom, I told you traveling would be the inspiration and material I was looking for.

Much love and thanks for all the comments...I do love them. 😊

Love, al

Advertisement



22nd September 2007

guggenheim house in vennice
hey, sounds like a ball. if you liked that you should see Peggy guggenheim's house in venice. it's really cool too. enjoy

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb