Super Bowl!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » Getxo
February 3rd 2013
Published: February 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

¡Hola!

It is crazy to think that I have been in Spain for almost a month now, where has time gone??? Nothing super exciting has happened yet but I will be Rome this upcoming weekend for Carnival so something fun is bound to happen! These first couple of weeks I have been happy exploring Bilbao and Gexto over the weekends, but now I am very enxious to go see some other places. Some weekend trips I want to take would be Portugal, southern Spain, Madrid, and Bordeaux.

I had my first test on Friday, I hope it went well! I stayed in the whole week studying but it has been hard to have some things stick for Spanish. I still have my days where I can understand very little and other days where I can understand everything; usually depends on how tired I am haha. After the test we went for a walking tour of Bilbao which was really neat, we saw the oldest building in Bilbao which was older than the city, a cool plaza, and had some fun pasteries!

There is this teaching program through USAC called TABC where yougo into schools and you get to teach English; I have my first day on Wednesday and we will get to see the schools we are teaching at and hopefully meet our classes. I don't know how many hours I will be getting, but money is money and the experience that it will provide will be worth more than what I get paid for. On the questionaire I said that I would prefer younger kids but in all honesty I will be perfectly happy with any age!

One thing that I really want is some good toothpaste. I bought some here the other day so I wouldn't have to use up my travel sizes and it doesn't taste very good, but it does the job! There are a few things I miss already like food joints being open 24 hours, having more than one outlet (I only brought one converter), and having a car; but hey it's all part of the experience!

Story of the week:

So I was meeting up with two friends to go walk around on a sunny day (btw weather has not been quite as nice as last week unfortunately). They were already at the meeting point when I walked across the street to meet them, I was expecting to stop talk a little about which way we should go when they stood up and started walking really fast away from the bench they were sitting at. When they got within hearing distance they told me to follow their lead and not look back, which of course wasn't the case because when someone tells me not to do someting the instinctive thing for anyone is to do it. When I looked back I saw a lady holding her kid with his legs up so that his bare naked butt was hanging down and he was pooping......ew. So the moral of this story, at least here in Spain, is watch where you step because you don't know if the poop on the side walk is dog or human poop.

I guess I should probably mention the Super Bowl since it is the title haha! Well the game doesn't start here until about 1:00 AM but there is a bar in Las Arenas (about 15 minutes away from Algorta) that is having a Super Bowl party. It starts at 9:00 and there is live music and everything. The game usually doesn't end until about 4:00AM so it will be a LONG night!

Anyway, that is about it! I will not be getting back from Rome until Tuesday so I won't be updating this until then.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb