El Sol!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » Getxo
January 28th 2013
Published: January 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

EEK! Sorry I am a day late! I plan on updating my blog every Sunday, but I might not be on top of it all the time! Ooops :/

Week three in Gexto! Wow, needless to say it is incredible! Although my honeymoon stage is starting to wear off and I am beginning to get a little homesick, it's that whole being halfway across the world that is starting to make me miss home a little. School is going well so far however 8:45 AM classes Monday through Friday is a pain; I have my first test this Friday, yikes. Right now I am taking a study break for my homework which has increased in the past week.

This past Friday we had an excursion with USAC that was all about traditional Basque sports. It was really cool to see what they did, all of the events were somehow related to farming: walking with heavy weights was when the women carried the big milk jugs in, lifting a heavy rock was from...lifting stuff haha, a weight pull thing that was from the oldschool plows, sawing wood, and a tripod thing that had a bag and a pully thing that you had to pull to the top as many times in a minute that you could, but I don't know what it was related to! The students got to try the sports, the picture is of me attempting to do the tripod thing, haha I didn't do so well but at least I tried!

The weather has cleared up a lot, it is supposed to be mostly clear and sunny this whole week! Today a friend and I went for a run and caught the sunset which was stunning. I think that when I run I am able to actually appreciate the place where I am, I am stunned by the beauty and when I run my mind is clear so it's kind of like hitting a wall of pure mother nature saying, "hey, look at me I am the most beautiful thing and you get to enjoy it." Needless to say I thank God every time I run! =]

Next weekend I will be going to Rome and I couldn't be more excited! I will be sure that my camera is charged and will take LOTS of pictures! But for now these pictures are of some random adventures/runs I have been going on!

HAHA ok funny story time. Today I was out with my two friends Natalie and Ramiro checking out the coast and view of a popular local beach. The weather was incredible today so of course we had to get pictures with the beach in the background. I get really nervous speaking to locals because I know that they can tell I am obviously American, so I was practicing how to ask someone to take a picture of us in Spanish. I go up to the nearest guy and ask him to take a picture in Spanish so he agrees then takes a picture. After the picture he comes up to us and asks if it looks okay or if we need him to take another one, IN ENGLISH! So I happened to speak Spanish to the guy from England. Epic fail, but slightly hilarious.

Advertisement



28th January 2013

LOVE!
Kelsey I'm so happy to hear about all the fun you're having! Your pics and blog are great enjoy your semester and I miss your face haha see you in the Fall!!!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb