Bilbao, the city I missed in Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » Bilbao
June 4th 2006
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Exhaustion hit today! Or was it last night after our Madrid night out? I woke up today feeling so tired and just knew I was going to get sick bad!

Most the day was spent driving to Bilbao from Madrid. I slept pretty much all the way only waking up to have lunch in Burgos. Burgos was a small town. As it was Sunday not much was open apart from some restaurants, cafes and souvenir shops. Todd and I had lunch with Nancy and Joe (from Colorado, USA). They had cheeseburgers and I had Spaghetti Bolognese. It was pretty good actually. Afterwards Nancy and browsed around the shops. As I said before not much open. She bought some gelato and I tried to hunt down some moisturizer.

Back on the bus and back to sleep. My body was telling me to stop. You know when you’re so tired you can’t keep your eyes open and get cranky easily? That’s what I was like.

Finally arriving in Bilbao, we were assigned rooms and had our bags delivered. I lay down on the bed and slept. Todd watched the Aussies play The Netherlands soccer friendly on tv. After the game Todd woke me up and told me to get ready so we could take a look around. I said yes but then rolled over. Next time I woke up he was gone! Haha! He had left a note to say he’d taken a walk and left me to sleep.

I took a shower. I felt slightly better but still so tired. My head hurt, sinus blocked, wheezy and overall just tired. Vicks was my new best friend. I carried a small jar of Vicks around with me everywhere. I bet you could smell me a mile away! 

Dinner time came and thankfully it was included. We went downstairs to the bar to meet with everyone else. Everyone had something alcoholic and I had some tea. Ahh tea…I miss having tea on Fri-Sat night at home.

Our dinner was the strangest dinner we’d ever had! Entrée was HEAPS of rice, a fried egg and tomato sauce poured on top. The main was a slimy piece of salmon and some potatos slices, dessert was an apricot Danish. The entrée was definitely weird. Everyone had this “what tha?” look! I was so tired I didn’t really care. We went back upstairs and watched a bad movie - “In the Mix” starring Usher. Yep…I’m sure you know how good it is now haha!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb