Feria de Cordoba


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Córdoba
June 2nd 2009
Published: June 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wah!! Okay, so this weekend Katrina and I went to Feria de Cordoba. It was so crazy. We kept being told that it was going to be the most insane time, like nothing we'd ever experienced before, etc. Obviously we were both pumped upon hearing this but didn't want to believe it to it's full extent because we didn't want to have expectations that were too high. So. We took the LAST train from Palma to Cordoba (at 9h00 in the evening) and took the FIRST train back in the morning at 9h30. There was definitely no sleep happening between those two train rides either. Ha.
So some details. Well, Ramon (padre) had been telling me that the colour of my hair would serve as a magnet for drunk-os at the feria. Cool. I didn't really believe him because people also told me I'd have to spit at men to get them away from me and I have yet to spit on anyone... not that I would anyway... Anyways, so we'd be told all of these things. Turns out, they were ALL true!! When we first got there we just followed pretty much EVERYONE from our train to a bus where we asked some guy if we were on the right bus and he said yes I will take you there, it involves a bit of walking. Awesome, goal of actually getting to the feria was accomplished. So we hung out with him for a while but his friends were weird and we were interested in getting some beer so we left them and went off in search of cervezas. On our way we ran into these guys who were ADAMANT about us going to a caseta (tent) with them, they were interested in drinking and so were we so we went with. One of them was really short and funny and looked like John Travolta, Katrina figured out later when they were playing Grease songs in the caseta. He was hilarious, but it freaked me out that we were eye to eye the entire time we spoke. Anyway, they were so much fun and there are pictures and things to prove it! Anyway, we stayed at that caseta for a long time, Katrina and I were both totally loving these guys and they loved us right back!! I was having numerous conversations where someone else would be touching my hair and saying how much they love it and how they don't have this here. Hahaha. We spent a lot of time listening/dancing to Grease songs among other things, which was SO much fun! We had shots of something which I still do not know what it was but it was disgusting. A very fun time though. Very very very fun.
In the mix of those guys was a boy named Carlos who I ended up hitting it off with and who we spent the rest of the night with. One of his friends danced me over to him after he had noticed that we had made eye contact, everyone was saying how they too had seen us making eye contact and how dangerous Carlos was... HA.
After being at that caseta for a while longer we moved to another one, we had just gotten our beer when Hannah (another au pair who was supposed to meet us at the feria) called and said she was there and needed help finding the place. So I ran out of the caseta and out into the feria to find her, which took much longer than I had expected and I lost Carlos and Katrina!!! After much desperate looking I found both of them. But not before I had my picture taken by two complete randos. One of them I thought was asking me to take a photo of him but actually he wanted to take a photo of me! And another took a photo of my back while I was sitting on this pole thing looking for Katrina. Ha. Anyway, so finally, after much texting on Carlos and my part, we found each other and then with some sheer luck I found Katrina.
Needless to say, we did not leave each other's sides again all night.
So we continued walking around and going into random casetas to drink beer and to dance. It was wonderful. There were numerous instances where I would be apprehended by random drunkards on the way to places. One time I was standing outside trying to tell Carlos where we were when these two guys came up to me (I think there names were Juan and Jesus, or something) and started talking with me and then took my phone and started screaming 'CARLOS CARLOS CARLOS' into it. Cool. Thanks guys.
The LAST place we ended up was at 7 in the morning, it was this reggae caseta and it was so warm and everyone was dancing to Bob Marley which was blaring. It was the greatest ending to the greatest night. After getting warmed up in there we went and got some food because it was light. We got sandwiches which I still don't know what they contained. Whatever. They were good.
Carlos brought us to the train station at like 8h00am and he and I had a long and drawn out good-bye. How nice. That is all I have for now.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb