Serbia in a day


Advertisement
Europe » Serbia » West » Belgrade
July 14th 2009
Published: August 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After catching an overnight bus from Sarajevo (leaving at 10pm, arriving at 6am) I was ready for sleep. Partially because of the usual restless night that you would associate with overnight traveling and partially due to an annoying American that wouldn't stop talking to me and who decided it would be a good idea to have a conversation at 4am when im trying to sleep, arrgh! Although I was tired, I knew that rest was not an option. I had been 'umming and arring' about whether Belgrade (which is where I was btw) was worth a night or two. I had heard some pretty average things about it and apparently the only good thing about it was the nightlife and since I was trying to avoid nightlife (need a break) I decided to see Beograde in a day and catch an overnight train to Buchurest. So I ditched my bags at luggage storage and hiked it through Belgrade. After about 40 mins of hobbling around the city (my foot was really slowing me down) I needed to rest and so I went to the Kalemegdan Citadel park. I accidentally fell asleep for 3 hours, it was wonderful. After regaining consciousness, I continued to stroll around the city and by 2pm I had had enough (partially because I was so tired and was in desperate need for a shower). Belgrade is a nice city, but rather boring. The only noteworthy sight were some of the NATO bombing sites from the Balkan War. Seeing a completely destroyed building surrounded by completely untouched buildings was quite an amazing display of how accurate and deadly the NATO air strikes can be. By 4pm I was very glad to be catching my train out of Serbia, but now I think maybe I should have given it a better chance to impress.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb