Bucharest


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Muntenia » Bucharest
July 15th 2009
Published: August 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Going two days without a shower is never a good thing. Its even worst if you are in the middle of summer, lugging around over 20kg of luggage, sweating profusely and then being stuck in confined areas with others. I feel sorry for the people I shared the train cabin with and the people I shared the taxi with. Another thing that I have learnt that is never good, is doing back to back overnight buses/trains. Although I am incredibly tired, I did really enjoyed the train ride. I was in a cabin with other backpackers and they were incredibly good company. We talked all night, and at times we were all standing in the passage way with half our bodies out the windows dodging trees as they whooshed past (there aren't many rules in this part of the world so we decided to make the most of it). Twas good fun. In the southern part of Romania it is quite flat and there are many, many crops of sunflowers, which makes for an impressive sight. On arrival in Bucharest, I did as I had done many times before, follow the nearest backpacker and hope that their place of accomodation has a spare bed. And surely enough, it worked. After a much needed shower and deciding to leave for Transylvania the following day, I decided it was time to venture out into the city. Bucharest is much like Belgrade, in that it is nice but there isn't much there. However they do have the second largest parliament (or admin building) in the world, second only to the pentagon. It was enormous and apparently a big waste of space. After about 6 hours I had seen as much as I had needed to see, and it was time for a few brews and card games, which lasted into the wee hours of the morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb