Trip Highlights and Summary


Advertisement
Europe » Serbia » West » Belgrade » Zemun
May 30th 2022
Published: May 30th 2022
Edit Blog Post

I am most happy to be home now. Three weeks is just a bit too long, at my age. Two weeks would be perfect. Trip locations: Frankfurt, Athens, Belgrade (Serbia), Cycling cruise on Dalmatian coast in Croatia, Dubrovnik, Montenegro, Paris, and back to Frankfurt before a nonstop to SFO and home. I much prefer to use a Eurail pass, but flights are both plentiful, and cheap. Most city hopping on planes in Europe is not more than 100 Euros!!! But it is a hassle, no matter how you view it. Speaking of which, the dollar has great purchasing power right now, with a Euro running about $1.05. And it was even better in Croatia, and Serbia!! I changed my mind about the worst tourists, as I saw very few Chinese tourists. I think the Brits are trying their best to usurp the top spot from the typical Chinese tourist. But, I sure love those fun loving Scottish farm ladies, they were the highlight of the cruise!!! Food wise, I always enjoy what my adopted Greek brothers provide. But i was pleasantly surprised in both Croatia and Serbia. France has been rather sad, perhaps it is the result of covid, or the cost of food?? My best meals were in Dubrovnik, and Belgrade. Staying in a Paris neighborhood like the Ibis Hotel in the 16th is great, no tourists, a typical working neighborhood, and easy to navigate. The Metro is 5 minutes away, and there are plenty of food choices, and retail nearby. And people are nice!!
I have watched very little news, whether the war, American politics, or even the weather back home. I think it was a healthy break from reality. The Europeans do not seem to take their politics so seriously!!
I guess the French are too good to stoop over and pick up their dog poop. This woman lets her dog poop on the sidewalk, in her own neighborhood, and keeps going. Even a shake of my head did nothing to shame her. I am so glad I do not live in this cesspool!!
In total, I counted eleven flights, a one-week boat/cycling cruise, a TGV from Paris to Frankfurt, a high-speed catamaran from Split to Dubrovnik, and a private car and driver for the Dubrovnik to Montenegro trip. Germany has continued to impress me with how they have integrated some many races and cultures into their daily lives and economy. I encountered Indians, Serbs, Egyptians, Albanians, and Bosnians in Frankfurt. Most of them speak about 6 to 8 different languages, and are really hard workers!!! With the warmer weather, the Europeans are out in the evening for strolling, dining, and cafe' sitting. They call it the "Big Three" of evening fun. I just do not see why we can't create some of that attitude here. Are we too busy or ?? You already know this: get to the famous museums early! By the time I entered Musee d'Orsay at 10:30am, it was a mob scene! My time was better spent, outdoors in splendid weather, with a few glasses of Champagne!! The TGV train from Paris to Frankfurt is amazing. Our top speed was 309 km/hour, or about 186 mph!!! And smooth, with comfortable seats. The passengers are quiet, no screaming kids, no incessant cell phone talking. It was much more relaxing than another puddle jumper on a plane. Love those crazy French, who show up for Centre Court at Roland Garros in heels, and their Sunday finest. And I finally mastered the Paris Metro with help from my hotel staff. It is only 1.90 Euro anywhere within the city each way. I also love the dedicated bike lanes on some of the major streets. Uber is often more expensive than regular taxis!!! Croatia (along with Montenegro) is yet another country almost 90% dependent on tourism. They appreciate travelers, particularly American travelers. My friends (staff of locals) on the boat told me they regularly get stiffed by cruise/cyclists, who proclaim a "great trip" but leave the tip envelope empty or rather paltry, I used the 10% rule (of the total trip cost), which my guys seemed pleased with. Between my bar bill and tips, my total trip costs were almost doubled! Plus, I gave my two buddies in the dining room, Goran, and Stefan, some extra. But it was worth it. They took good care of me! Again, the highlights were the Hotel Moskva in Belgrade, and the French Open. So, no more cruises for me. And no more large group (cycling) tours either! I am just too independent, love to make and change my schedule often, and can't stand waiting around for something to happen. Perhaps my buddy, Mr. Mike will be able to travel again soon!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb