Sighisoara, Romania


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Mures » Sighisoara
March 12th 2012
Published: March 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

0 KM to Sofia0 KM to Sofia0 KM to Sofia

Yep, I am right here
We went into Vlad Tepes house where he was born and is now a restaurant. We ate there. We went up a bell tower and I found my name. - Sofia

On the way to our next destination, Sighisoara, we stopped by 2 small towns on the way to our next stop Sighisoara. The towns were Prejmer and Harman and both had really cool fortified churches. These were Saxon churches that were surrounded by huge walls to protect them. They were more like fortresses. Really cool looking. ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

It was now time to go to Sighisoara, the birth place of Vlad Tepes aka "Dracula". This was another medieval town. We stayed right in the center of the old town at Burg Hostel. We had planned to stay 2 nights here, but daddy heard there were a lot more things to do at our next destination so we changed to one. We at at Dracula's home that was now a restaurant. When the waitress asked me what I want to drink....I said "blood" daddy and the waitress laughed.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The next morning, we woke up early and went up the bell tower. It was pretty cool. I saw a sign that
Lets go Eat!Lets go Eat!Lets go Eat!

Dracula's House
said Sofia. Daddy told me it was the capital of the country next to Romania....I am sure I will go there one day. We had great views of the town. We also went to a small musuem and went up a bunch of steps to a church and cemetary.

We then drove to Sibiu, but on the way we stopped off at Biertan. There was a HUGE fortified church. We did not go in, but we walked around the outside. It was cool.

This trip I got to use a lot of electronic stuff which made travelling easier and more fun. Daddy had bought a small computer and I was able to watch movies in the car, and go on the internet when we were in the hostels. Also one of my Mommy's friends got me an ipod.....so awesome. Daddy and I played temple run, and I was better than him. We also were able to call and SEE my brother and mommy by using Tango...It was really cool. Daddy said that talking to friends and family was a lot more difficult when he was travelling 20 years ago....Whatever.


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Our HostelOur Hostel
Our Hostel

Burg Hostel - Awesome Location
All SmilesAll Smiles
All Smiles

Bell Tower in Sighisoara
Snowball coming at youSnowball coming at you
Snowball coming at you

Statue of Vlad Tepes
Daddy's Huge SoupDaddy's Huge Soup
Daddy's Huge Soup

Dracula's Restaurant
Time to go upTime to go up
Time to go up

to the church and cemetary on top of the hill
Nice ViewNice View
Nice View

Bell Tower of Sighisoara
HarmanHarman
Harman

Another fortified church


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb