I love the nighlife...


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Cluj » Cluj-Napoca
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

To start off, I'm just going to apologize in advance if the next few entries are a bit "blah".. i feel like I've been up forrrrever!
Anywhoos, I got my first real taste of how the Romanians do the nightlife.
After my nap I awoke in the nick of time to join the brother of one of the workers here to met his colleagues at a local hang-out spot. We met many of his friends and even his boss for drinks and pub-games. It was fun teaching the adults English as they taught me Romanian. Another fun point of the evening was reading the drink menu and seeing many of the same drinks we have, like a long island ice tea and kamakazi. They're even made the same way too. I ordered a local beer called Ursus which is what I call Bear Beer, a) because it has a bear on the front and b) because Urs is bear in Romanian.. so, bear beer 😊 If anyone is at BevMo check it out, it's actually a very good beer. One of the few I've had that doesn't give you that icky bloated feeling after. Then it was onto Billiards where I whipped the tooshes of 3 of the guys here. One was on my team but after too much to drink he wasn't playing his best. It is cool that in Romania I'm actually quite good at pool.
Then I tried my hand at darts and was not so lucky. I did love the electronic board which was like a tall standing video game. I think it's called EuroDart or something. Anyways, it was very cool. By the end of the night I was super duper comfy in the group... thus proving my adaptivity.
Also, a funny note: I had to go to the "toileta" and when I got to the bathroom, I realized how small things really are in some places. The accordian door gave me little to no space to move, let alone sit. Just think... I'm not the tallest or biggest person, and even I had trouble sitting... Imagine some other folks in the same situation. It was one of the few times in life I was glad to be tiny.
We eventually left and came back to the school. That was the night. I had fun but was certainly ready to go to sleep.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb