CONSTANTA!


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Muntenia » Bucharest
July 1st 2006
Published: July 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

CONSTANTACONSTANTACONSTANTA

Loredana, Luis and Me
Maybe my last entry from Europe! Took the train to Constanta, on the Black Sea. Weather is a little better here, only 91F! The train ride was OK; Romania finally modernized their rail system a bit and bought some InterCity trains with A/C. The ride was supposed to be 3 hours, but took 4. The weather was so hot that the tracks expanded, forcing the train to go slower. Friends met me and we had a few drinks and explored the city. Met a very cool couple from Luxembourg. I didn’t realize the country was so small - about the size of Akron, Ohio!! The next day was a little rainy - so we did what typical Romanians do during the day when it is 91 degrees and 100% humidity - we went to the gym! A Euro gym in the summer - I was afraid the smell would be terrible, since I hate the smell in US gyms with A/C…but it was fine. After 45 min of pumping iron, I figured I better stop, since I didn’t want to be too sore to move the next day, and also it was easily 110 degrees inside and I was soaked and thought I might have a stroke at any minute! Must have lost 10 pounds. At night we went to party in Mamaia. You can read abt the place here: Mamaia

Mamaia is basically Rosarito or Daytona Beach - full of clubs with young kids on vacation. Have to be careful who you talk to though, since there is no age limit! Felt kind of old, but by far was not the oldest person there. The DJ was horrible. Bad eighties US songs, worse current hip hop and techno. It’s no wonder at Vegas Clubs we never hear of guest DJs from Romania. The high point was when he played some Elvis, and no one knew how to dance to it, so I grabbed Loredana and swung dance with her and spun her a few times - they had never seen anything like it there. I also got everyone there doing the arm motions for “YMCA” - I might have had a little too much to drink! Anyway, a great time, and I go home day after tomorrow 😞 😞



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

VIEW FROM THE HOTELVIEW FROM THE HOTEL
VIEW FROM THE HOTEL

well, you can kinda see the Black Sea...
getting readygetting ready
getting ready

loredana and biance
mamaiamamaia
mamaia

the photographer doesnt dance!


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb