HOT WEATHER!


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Muntenia » Bucharest
June 30th 2006
Published: July 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

DINNER WITH FRIENDSDINNER WITH FRIENDSDINNER WITH FRIENDS

Total tab - $40 :):) I love it!
Still bumping around Romania. Seeing a lot of old friends. Weather is stifling hot, over 100F. Most cars and buildings here have no A/C, so it’s a sauna. Bucharest has changed a lot since I was here 3 years ago. They join the EU on January 1, and there is a sense of excitement. New construction is going on everywhere and lots of business opportunities. The country has been occupied so often recently, first by the Germans, then the Russians, and the revolution was less than 20 years ago, but you can definitely see how things get better and better. You can still see the bullet holes in some of the buildings from the revolution. They tell me the government is still corrupt, but under pressure from the EU, reforms are in progress. Still one of my favorite cities, except never again in the summer! Romania has undoubtably the worst weather in the world! -25 in the winter, and 110 in the summer with 90% humidity. Gotta be tough to make it here! The Hilton here is not as nice as in Prague, but free is free. Strange that it is not all that nice, but is highly regarded as one
VIEW FROM THE HOTELVIEW FROM THE HOTELVIEW FROM THE HOTEL

The 2nd biggest building in the world after the Pentagon. Silly goverment leveled 25 square blocks of houses to build it and the grounds. Over 1100 rooms. You can read abt it here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Palace_of_the_Parliament
of the top 3 hotels in the country! More Americans and Brits here than before, but I can still surprise a taxi driver or 2 with my limited command of the language. Most Brits don’t bother. I like Bucharest and am afraid it will change like Prague over the next few years….

Still, having a fantastic time in some of my favorite places in the world. You can't beat Carslberg on tap for under a buck! I am getting addicted to waking up each day in this great part of the world and never knowing what is gonna happen!

The women here are definitely the best! I hadn’t been here in the summer and can’t BELIEVE what they are wearing. Too hot for bras they tell me, so they don’t bother, even if the shirt is VERY sheer! And unlike some parts of the US, if they don’t look good in something, they don’t wear it. I am lucky I didn’t rent a car or I would have wrecked already. I walk around with my head on a swivel. Sometimes it's just great to sip a beer in the hotel lobby and people-watch!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb