Bye Romania..with love...


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Muntenia » Bucharest
July 20th 2007
Published: July 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have to admit, I'm sad to leave Romania! Its been a super special trip, with personal guides, drivers, invaluable input, food, side trips, food...not like my typical trips! - where I'm on my own to figure it all out!

A random little tidbit that I keep forgetting to mention, is that when you pay for something, i.e., "apa plata" (water, no "gas" / bubbles), when the merchant doesn't have exact change, and is short only by cents, they'll give you a piece of gum instead, along with the rest of your change! It's too funny, and its happened a couple times.

I had a GREAT morning, and I'm feeling SO much better (than yesterday)! Probably 'cuz I got some sleep...though it was still hot last night. Not much air seemed to get into my room, but I still slept! I did get up super early to do my walk, and to beat the heat - - and what a GREAT decision this turned out to be! I walked a lot, feel great and saw even more!

I got up around 5:30...no alarm, just woke up when I told myself (last night) I wanted to. I love that (when it works!). I was out the door by 6am. I didn't do the whole 3 hour/21 km walk...but I did parts of it and more.

Andre's driving me here SO helped orient me to the City! I usually don't have much of a problem, using Lonely Planet, its maps, and others acquired. However, this time, having a "drive by" "a la Andre" of the key sites...? So helpful - thanks again to Andre/Daniela! 😊

Ok, so I ventured out first to the Palace of Parliamant (PoP), the "montsrosity!" It really is HUGE, and it's hard to imagine how the heck Ceausescu pulled off its construction (well, I take that back...seems he got done whatever he wanted to for many years). From there I walked to "United Plaza," where there's several fountains that match the size of the PoP, but they weren't on - so the effect wasn't there, really. I did see them yesterday with Andre though, in full force! In fact, he said the water used to be "in color" - I believe red, blue and yellow - - - super bright, almost neon colors!

I proceed up a main thoroughfare...Nicholas B-somebody's...up to "University Plaza." This is where lotsa students protested before/during/after the revolution in December, 1989. There's 10 crosses in the center of the plaza. Overlooking the plaza, too, is the Intercontinental Hotel, where allegedly the press filmed a lot of the revolution's events and bloodshed in December, 1989.

It's wild...'cuz as I mentioned before, you get an overall "energy" of Bucharest's history, but for the most part...Romanians have moved on already! There's traffic as usual...people are out and about, and everyone appears to be goin' about their lives.

From "University Plaza" I continued up the main street, ending up in "Revolution Plaza." This is the main location of the revolution...and where Ceausescu gave his last speech from the balcony of the former Communist Party HQ. Apparently, when "the sh*t hit the fan" so-to-speak, and people started protesting, he bailed by helicopter from the building's roof. It really is surreal to try and imagine the events that took place...

I read some excerpts from Lonely Planet to Andre on our drive down yesterday from Brasov. He believes some of the info is exagerrated - - - mainly the fact (that's stated twice) that students/Romanians were run over by tanks. He doesn't believe this happened...and it's more than probable that this info came straight from the press...i.e., "truth manipulated" to sell papers - - who knows. Bottom line, he did agree that there was bloodshed from guns fired, and that many people were killed as a result of the revolution and resulting overthrow. Ceausescu was killed on December 25, 1989 - - a bit brutal, since many Romanian's do celebrate Christmas. The general feel I got from Andre was that they could have waited...investigated more perhaps...and held off on killing the guy (and his wife, I think, who per Andre, was, in a sense, Ceausescu's "right-hand woman," and then some...

Okie dokie...I'm goin' off here...but I have to get going. I'm off to have breakfast at my hotel...take a shower...drink more water (!!!)...then to catch a bus to the aiport, which is the cheapest way to get there - - it'll cost me $3 max...vs. taking a cab, which is bound to be a lot for the 8-10 mile trip. It'll be a bit "toasty," but no problem-o!

OH, and I looked up Prague...and 2 things - - 1) it's apx 20 degrees cooler there ... THANK GOD... AND 2) it's supposed to rain today and the next couple days...WHOOO HOOO! 😊

Ok, all - - I'll fill in any missing gaps from Prague. Again, there's not even many people here at the internet cafe...but the smoke/smell is still NASTY!

ONE LAST THING! Al - I heard VAMOS A LA PLAYA AGAIN.....! Will this song ever die?? SHEESH!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb