Happy Birthday to me...!


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Muntenia » Bucharest
July 19th 2007
Published: July 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I posted a comment, but in case some of you are having trouble (hopefully not at this point...and if you are, don't be shy - let me know!) I THANKED ALL OF YOU for your feedback, comments, emails, messages...it means a lot! This "live time journal sharing" is a kick...and because I've been having my moments lately, missin' you all, your feedback helps a lot!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME! 41? C'mon..wake me up, will ya?

I'm in Bucharest...and I have to say, I'm laying low. Andre drove Jerry and Cynthia to the airport this morning (arrived 8:30ish, left Brasov at 5:30am). He then dropped me off at my hotel. He also stuck around to help me send a box of my crap homeat the P.O., and I'm glad he did - what a process! And I've done this before, a lot...but here was a new experience! Andre's the man - Jerry, Cyn & I extended him an open invite to come to southern CA ANYTIME, telling him he'd be taken care of...! Unfortunately, I'm not sure he will, at least anytime soon - but one never knows...!

Good news/bad news - - I thought my hotel was a hostel, and that I'd be in a shared dorm room...but I'm not. Good news is that I've got some privacy and my own room for a night...which today helped. Bad news...it's my birthday...and in a hostel, you meet people, which I half expected to do, and perhaps go out with - - but that didn't happen. It's a-ok tho.

The temperature reached 49 degrees celsius...which I think is over 110 degrees for us...and is as humid as it gets. It's really ridiculous (and why I don't travel in the summer!) I've been drinking a TON of water, and I thereafter sweat it out! 😊

Andre drove me around and pointed out some historical things, most having to do with the revolution, and the overthrow of Ceausescu, the last communist leader, in 1989. There's definitely a different "energy" about Bucharest, or at least I feel it when I'm walking around these historical sights...where bullets were fired and many people were killed...trying to imagine this ego-maniac of a leader, doing his thing from the balcony, talking to "his people," encouraging them...it's wild.

We drove me by the Palace of Parliament (formerly the "House of the People"), which, according to Lonely Planet (and I think it's well said), is "the big mama of monstrous buildings." And it IS! Ceausescu bulldozed a HUGE bunch of properties (and I'm sure didn't pay benefits and/or give proper vacate notices) to build this monstosity! A picture doesn't even do it justice...driving around it, I was in awe. I wanted to do a tour today, but didn't - we'll see what tomorrow brings. There's also a 21 km walking tour (3 hours +/-) that I'd like to do...and my plan is to get up early and do it before it gets hot...but let's see if it cools down first!

Ok all - I've had enough of the smoke in here...I'm gonna get out and hope its cooled down! Tomorrow I'm off to Prague - can't wait!

THE WEEKEND'S COMIN' ALL - have a great one...till soon!



Advertisement



19th July 2007

Happy Birthday Girl!
Happy B Day girl! You are "the" travel girl. My dream and goal....Have a good one and goodness, stay cool. =)
19th July 2007

Happy Birthday
Happy 41st! It just gets better from here on out. Now that we're older, wiser, and all that S__T, we make smart choices, understand world politics, and can actually think! Also, I'm drumk. Have fun in Prague. Hope it's cooler there Love, Tim
19th July 2007

Happy Happy Birthday!
Happy Birthday sweet girl..so happy to hear that you are having such a great time..like you always do when you travel. Its been nice to read up on your day to day activities..until we speak again..have a great rest of the trip. Miss you..love you..later dude!!
19th July 2007

Happy Birthday !!!!! :-)
Hey Laura, Happy happy Birthday cutie !!!!! Was thinking of you and you are probably in Prague now how cool,, jealous but happy for you!! I need to see some pic's, what's up? no pressure, ha!!! Have fun, be safe, live life to the fullest!!! Love Giselle

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb