Foarte Ocupat Bucharest


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Muntenia » Bucharest
May 31st 2006
Published: May 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The Half Way Point


Very Busy Bucharest...I am at the half way point of my trip in terms of the length of my stay here in Europe. I am amazed I am only half way along. I feel like Boulder was from a different life, a different planet.

I arrived in Bucharest yesterday evening and was very relieved to have Alexandru meet me at the airport. It was all a bit overwhelming. We picked up his girlfriend Ioana and they drove me around the city a little so I could get my bearings. Unfortunately today I don't have any of those bearings left. I had to find this internet cafe to get online and find a decent map. I think I know where I am now. It's not that Bucharest is really that much different than many other places, it's just that everyone is moving around so FAST! There are cars everywhere and lots of people on the streets. It's MUCH harder to blend in here than it has been anywhere else. Or perhaps there aren't nearly as many tourists which is why I feel like I stick out so much.

The language is of course hard to understand because they speak so fast but I have found I can read may signs and I am picking quite a few words out of the surrounding conversations. I haven't had a chance to really use the language but that's mostly because I chicken out at the last second and revert to English. It's just all so intimidating!

Anywho..I am in an underground stinky internet shop so I need to get out of here. I just wanted to leave a quick message to let everyone know that I found out yesterday that I will not have access to e-mail in the village. The nearest internet cafe is in the nearest town 30 minutes away by car. I doubt I'll be there very often if at all. So don't worry if I can't write for the next month. I am okay!

Leave plenty of messages and e-mail if you can! I will be glad to hear from you when I get back to the modern world.

Advertisement



31st May 2006

Hi Cara, Glad to hear that you've made it to Bucharest and met up with Alexandru! I've got to make it over there sometime indeed. Anywho, be well in the village and we'll all hear from you soon (in a month :) ) .
2nd June 2006

Hiya Gorgeous!
Have finally made it back to London and so happy to read that you arrived in Bucharest safely. Your adventures since we parted sounds absolutely fabulous! Have missed my travel buddy muchly! Needless to say, have a fantastic time in the village! xo

Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb