Last Day Before Romania


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This will be my last entry before I fly to Bucharest tomorrow afternoon. I am leaving Western Europe for the foothills of the Carpathian Mountains in Romania to volunteer at the Pro Vita Organization's orphanage. This is a major part of my trip since I will be there almost a month. This trip originated with the idea of visiting the orphanage and I am extremely excited to finally be going.

I heard from the orphanage a few days ago and it sounds like they can use some additional help. The Danube has been filling with rain this past month and much of the South East of Romania has been suffering from flooding. Apparently this means most of the phone lines are not reliable. I am not sure what the flooding means for the orphanage. I will find out soon.

Sadly I received a message that the Father of my homestay family died last week and they will not be able to host me in their home. Melanie was trying to find a new family but since most homes in Romania are very tiny and the dining room frequently doubles as a bedroom it is hard to find room for guests. I may be staying in a home in the neighboring village or will stay in the volunteer housing at the orphanage. I will find out when I arrive at the orphanage on Thursday afternoon.

Tomorrow I will meet with Alexandru, a friend of my friend Bill's. Bill is a good friend and coworker at BioServe in Boulder and met Alexandru in Munich while studying abroad. He put me in touch with Alexandru when he heard I would be in Romania. Alexandru lives in Bucharest and will meet me at the airport tomorrow evening. He and his girlfriend have to work on Wednesday so I will get a chance to wander around the city before meeting them for dinner. Someone from the orphanage will meet me in the city on Thursday morning for the 2 and a half to 3 hour drive to the orphanage.

I have no idea if I will have access to the internet and I am assuming that I will not. I know that Melanie lives in the village and has been emailing from there but I don't know if she writes from a personal computer or from the orphanage. Hopefully I can find some access even if it is sporadic. Otherwise I will be returning to Brussels on June 26th and will log back in when I can.

I hope everyone has been enjoying my entries so far. I have had quite a few comments and it seems that my writing has been well read. I really look forward to being able to add photos from the orphanage.

Everyone take care over the next month and I will 'talk' to you soon! Much Love to All- Cara

Advertisement



30th May 2006

Take care...
Hey Cara, just wanted to send you a quick comment to tell you to take care of yourself over the next month!! I hope you get a chance to keep us all up to date on your adventures but if not, I look forward to hearing all about them when you return. Smiles :-)

Tot: 0.356s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0851s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb