Suceava - day 1


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Bucovina » Suceava » Suceava
May 11th 2010
Published: May 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I invited R. to join me on my visit to Suceava and he accepted. He suggested to set the alarm at 7 to have time to visit the weekly market in Humor. We finally got a ride and B. graciously let us stow my gear in his restaurant as we strolled the Tuesday market. There was nothing overly exciting to see or buy, but it was interesting nonetheless. After some minutes relaxing over a coffee we made our way to the bus station and after mulling over the possibility that the old Roman bus was ours a comfortable newer maxi pulled up and took us on.

The driver was one of those pedal-to-the-medal kind of guys, my first on this trip. In Suceava we had to call the owner of the hostel when we couldn't get an answer to where the hell Str. Mihai Eminescu was. We dumped my stuff and went to meet the director of the local library on a courtesy call (I sent them about 20,000 books a few years ago) and to give him the opportunity to entertain me more. As the director he is quite busy, and after a brief visit, R. and I spend the afternoon shopping for things for our friends in Humor. My foot started bothering me like crazy.

We ate at the mall's food court at a place called Taco Loco, but the only thing even generally approaching anything Mexican was the name. Se took the maxi back to the center, where we parted ways and I attempted to get back to the hostel. I knew where I was, but the road to turn on didn't look quite right so I took a turn on Str. Mihai. I passed the house number and soon realized I was on the wrong street. It took three calls to the hostel owner before it was straightened out. The photocopied hand-drawn map she provided had absolutely none of the street names printed on them and the landmarks were noted without addresses so I had no mother-freaking idea where I was and none of the locals could make the map out. Her response was that names on the streets made the map too busy. At least she had some ice for my swollen foot.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb