Suceava - day 2


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Bucovina » Suceava » Suceava
May 12th 2010
Published: May 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The day started off with my foot feeling a bit better. I don't envy poor R. the past few days. He is a serious walker by nature whereas I have always been a stroller. Add to that my lingering limp and I'm sure he wanted to scream more than once. Today I head out to the museums. As I was walking down the street I saw a backpack sitting on the side of the road atop a pile of debris. I looked around and no one was in site. It looked battered, but still a little too nice to be trash. I looked in it to see if there were any indentifyable things of value to tuen over to the authorities. As I rooted through some random clothes some guy can up to me. He was part of a roadcrew that was working in a ditch and I assume it was a series of obscenities he was screaming at me. There was absolutely nothing I could do but make unintelligible apologies to him and his colleagues as I left and noted the spot, to avoid it during the rest of my stay.

As the day warmed up I decided to return to the hostel and change into my shorts and a lighter shirt. I foolishly grabbed a cab that did not engage the meter and wound up paying a buck and a half for a ride that should have been a fraction of the amount. After changing I left again and sought out the History Museum. Using the unfortunately weak map provided by the management was not so useful. Nevertheless I found the museum and spent several hours there. The rain started slowly, but after a slow build-up turned into quite a downpour. I stopped at the suggested restaurant at the corner near the hostel and dried off and ate a pizza and had a couple beers.

After a while at Suceava's only net cafe I returned to the hostel to relax. The host insisted on feeding me very yummy home-made ciorba and we talked a lot about many things. She let on she is ready to close this chapter of her life and move on and needs to find just the right person to take over this well-reviewed business.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb