Gura Humorului - day 4


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Bucovina » Suceava » Gura Humorului
May 10th 2010
Published: May 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I was up early and R. and I went into town where we met a couple teachers and some students at the high school. After that we saw a friend of his on the street and visited his school. After chatting for quite some time in the teachers' lounge with the English, Math and Religion teachers we dropped in for a quick visit with a small group of kids doing some extra-credit work. I peered over their shoulders, helping them from time to time. The teacher told us that the kids were a bit edgy, because they were all performing in a pageant the following week and were all thinking of that above all. Then one of them said something to the teacher and when I inquired what was said, she said the kids wanted to show their dance to Ross and me. They apologized that some of the kids from their group was not there, but they'd do what they could. It was fabulous!! It reminded me how a tourist often just misses an event that occurred before they arrived or would happen well after they left. I would love to see the pageant.

We walked to the bus station to get a feel for what was available to get me to Suceava tomorrow. Then we popped into this shop and that and looked for some knick-knacks and critiqued this and that about each one. R. showed me some of the books I had sent him when he worked here and that he put into the library.

I washed clothes and packed for the morning. We'll check out Market Day and pop into a school and then make our way to Suceava.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.347s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb