The magic of Cintra


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
September 10th 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tim version:
* Back in Lisbon, Caitlin and I head to Cintra then relax wit dvds n whatever for the night.
* Head off to Madrid the next morning.

Slightly longer than long version:

Back in Lisbon, back in Oasis, back home. I love this place! Today I wanted to go to Cintra (Sintra) as it has a mythical garden area built up by a man who used to be an Opera prop designer, making for one rich dude with a lot of imagination and so inevitably a very cool elaborate garden. Took me a while to get moving but a few hours after hitting Lisbon Caitlin and I head off to Cintra. Its a 45 minute train journey a different way to the other ways Ive gone so it gives me a new set of views of Lisbon, much better than on the way to Cascais I think.

The City is nestled on the side of a mountaneous area, giving incredible views every way you look. From the train station its a winding walk around some small roads with beautiful views of the town and surrounding areas, really green and lush as compared to the more baren nature of Sagres. The photos, as with some other places, will do most of the talking here for me but suffice to say we wandered the gardens up and down the hillside for about 4 hours and I could have spent 10 times longer there! Everywhere you look there are little statues, caves and underground paths leading to other areas, wells and winding stairways to areas you think youve been but then discover that its a whole new set of things to look at... mythical, magical, fantasy based, blending nature and mad made together is the best way I can describe it here I think... I wish I was better with words.

After the gardens, back home, it was about 9:30 so we thought we had missed dinner (it gets served at 8) but instead scored some free chicken which we cooked up some Pasta to go with (well... heh Caitlin cooked up anyway... I just kinda mulled around and gathered my things to leave the next day) and it turned out to be one awesome dinner! I was in the other building that night, the one with the DVD player (the building isnt nearly as good as the
Funky statueFunky statueFunky statue

Yes, every part of the statue is just what you think it is...
main one unfortunately) so we headed over to that and monopolised the couch for the night. I was sad to be leavin Portugal so was in a bit of a subdued mood aye. But Ill be back...

No idea when I fell asleep on the couch but I woke up in good time to get ready and head off for the first time in the trip so far! I keep waking up late, or leaving late, usually because Im enjoying what Im doing or where I am too much to wanna go! A quick train and plane journey and I was on my way to Madrid, waving goodbye to Portugal! See, this one wasnt so long was it? Am I getting any better at this?


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Moon taking a restMoon taking a rest
Moon taking a rest

The moon, taking a well earned rest on top of the mansion
Down and down we goDown and down we go
Down and down we go

... where it goes, nobody knows? Something like that anyway
5 ducks in symmetry 25 ducks in symmetry 2
5 ducks in symmetry 2

looks closely... even at what they are doing, how they are sitting..
Macro heavenMacro heaven
Macro heaven

I discovered my macro function =) Love it


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb