For the Love of Lagos


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve » Lagos
July 26th 2005
Published: July 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Castle Port in LagosCastle Port in LagosCastle Port in Lagos

This is one of the oldest seaports on the Iberia Peninsula!

I was desperate for bleach white walls, fresh sun dried clothes hanging from taunt lines, outside windows decorated with red flowers. Welcome to Lagos, in fact, welcome to all of Europe along the Mediterranean coast. Lagos, a historic port, 3 hours from Seville, Spain is a combination of quaint fishing lifestyle and a booming tourist trap. I found my way to Lagos , Portugal, for some much deserved solitude. It has been a two and a half months since leaving the country I know and exploring the “open minded Europe”, and I had to recoporate from the previous two weeks....

I am constantly trying new ways of transportation that is cheap and somewhat comfortable, but for the most part, I am really flexible and my standards have dropped a few degrees below diva…. I started out driving in a fun blue European car that we spilt four ways and drove straight through to Portugal, however the way home is slightly different. How amazing it felt to drive through yet another country and be able to collect a patch. It’s the simple moments that I find bring pleasure for me….those are the things to notice.

The last few days
My Little Private Cove!My Little Private Cove!My Little Private Cove!

I slept at this exact spot for over 5 hours one day....ahhh...it was nice..
was to be devoted to the very little surf experience that I wish to improve upon and brag about in the end, but the surf hostel that I was supposed to stay in was full. Nonetheless, I knew a couple girlfriends who weaseled their way in and I quickly followed their lead. The hostel was clean, and in the center of the town. Full of boys on holiday with thick accents from Australia, New Zealand, England, Scotland, Ireland, all the cute accents were accounted for, Megan- you would have died a millions times over with each Hello! The whole experience felt like a scene from Blue Crush! Kaye, who I met through my old roommate Katie, played on her guitar and we sang along to Sweet Home Alabama, No Woman No Cry…of course and by my request a little bit of Jlo! I ignored the scoffs and chuckles… It was a wonderful memory.

The coast of Lagos has very coarse sand and lovely hidden grottos like the one in the picture. Most of the beach line was secluded, only a few of the locals would find their way into the caves and smoke their heche. I felt I need
My favorite Outfit!My favorite Outfit!My favorite Outfit!

My new favorite thing to wear everyday is a sarong, tanktop and bathing suit!
to explore a bit of the Portugal history, Kerrie , a girlfriend I met at the awful summer camp, and I found one of the oldest castle sea ports in the Iberia Peninsula. In fact, it was one of the first ports to ship and sell slaves from Africa. Crazy....

I had to leave the girls early and found a bus to take me to Seville, instead of the predetermined 3 hours it should have taken, it took 6 hours to get to Seville. Then, I had to take another bus to Madrid, that’s the one I am on now for another 5 hours. Its called the Social Bus. But let me tell you, no one is really all that willing to be social….especially the old women sitting next to me. She looks at me like I am from Al- Queda and am making plans, as we speak, to blow up Tel-Aviv…. She needs to calm down.... Goodbye Lagos, its been fun....

Lagos has always been somewhere I have wanted to visit…I’m glad that I could cross it off my list….only 187 to go!


Advertisement



26th July 2005

Just like the movie!
Hey, congratulations on getting yet another patch!! And good job for representing with "No Woman No Cry"! haha Looks fantastic there! Good luck on that bus. If that woman is anything like that annoyed lady on the train to Barcelona, I pity you! :)
29th July 2005

Heidi Come Home!
Heidi..I know your travels are amazing and all...but really..summer is already half over. Fall is just around the corner...and it was late summer early fall when we first started hanging out again TWO YEARS AGO! I have already been looking for a job for you. Found a great one! Movie Studio Teacher! Free Travel! AWESOME PAY! AND all you do is school the children cast in the movies for a couple hours a day! Its super hard to get in to, BUT my current bosses wife used to be one before they got married! She is a great connection and can help you out!!!! When are you coming home??

Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb