Border town and in between


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Silesia » Cieszyn
August 4th 2010
Published: August 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

August 4 - Woke up today early, as usual. I saw Daria's mom before she left for work and she made me promise to eat some breakfast and to wake up Daria. I let her sleep but she work up early anyway. She made us some tortillas with cheese for breakfast that were delicious. Then we sat around watching some tv, including a cartoon movie about a horse in the wild west. Weird. Daria's mom came home at 11am and then we left for Cesky Tesin in the Czech Republic. It took a little longer than expected to get there as they were setting up for the tour de Poland to come through that day, like the tour de France. But we got there with plenty of time to spare, and so I bought the ticket to Prague and we walked around the town a bit. We walked back to the bridge that acts as the border between the two countries and back into Poland for a minute. It's crazy that it's just that easy here to walk between countries.

The train was supposed to leave at 1:07pm, but in true Czech fashion it was delayed 10 minutes. In that time Daria asked a woman about the train to make sure it went to Prague, and it turns out she lives in Canada but was from the Czech Republic originally. She sat across from me on the train and it was nice to have someone to talk to until we started reading/sleeping. I used the time to read and plan my time in Prague a bit, which was nice. We had another waiting period as we sat for 35 minutes in another train station waiting for more carriages to be added that hadn't arrived yet, and then we continued on to Prague.

We arrived at 6pm and I said good bye to Masha, the woman from the train. Now I was on the look out for the info office, so I could find a place to sleep without wandering all around. But I couldn't find the one that was supposed to be at the train station, so I walked over to a relatively nearby hostel to see if they had space. They did, so I stayed, but I am not that impressed with the place. It is ok, but there is smoking everwhere but in the bedrooms, so I think I will staying in my room a lot. I settled in and then went for some dinner. I found a chinese restaurant that ooked cheap, and decided to eat there. The portion was huge and I paid $5 for a meal and a coke. Delicious. Back at the hostel I had a shower and my normal skype call. Next I chatted with a new roommate, Dana, from Canada. The others all came in and went to sleep by 10:30pm, which is unusual. I stayed up, sorting pictures and watching Jon Stewart until midnight. That man is amazing but really needs to shave off that beard.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0871s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb