Enjoying the city


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Masovia » Warsaw
October 9th 2006
Published: October 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

University GateUniversity GateUniversity Gate

White with cast-iron metal work. These are the gates I pass through on my way to class.
I enjoyed a week of down-time before the Warsaw University semester began. Admittedly, I was enjoying my vaca so much that the thought of actually going to school (putting the study in study-abroad) didn’t seem right. Turns out, the university is not only ascetically stimulating, but the lectures, professors are wonderful. Not to the mention the hundreds of international students from all corners of the globe that have seemed to converge in this very spot.

The days and weeks that followed my arrival have been spent not only at school…but enjoying the after-school hours as well. For example, taking in the Warsaw Film fest, get-togethers, evening outings etc. Hmm…who am I fooling…everyone came de-code that clever language.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

University Law LibraryUniversity Law Library
University Law Library

Built in the 1800's, this is the home of University of Warsaw faculty of law.
Palace of CulturePalace of Culture
Palace of Culture

This communistic relic was a gift from Stalin. Most Warsaw natives destest this structure (bad reminder) and talk has even circulated about having it removed from the Warsaw skyline.
Film FestFilm Fest
Film Fest

Despite its contraversy...it houses numerous "cultural" events open to the public.
Film FestFilm Fest
Film Fest

Had to get in on the cultural action.
Out on the townOut on the town
Out on the town

At a local watering hole with some friends.
...out again....out again.
...out again.

Yet again...
My friend MartinMy friend Martin
My friend Martin

I'd like to introduce my fun-friend Martin...he speaks FIVE languages and is extremely fashionable!


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb