Oh my...the FOOD!


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Masovia » Warsaw
October 16th 2006
Published: October 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Look at all the food!Look at all the food!Look at all the food!

All this for just two people...three courses EACH. YUM!
To sum it up, Polish food is hearty, tasty and PLENTY of it. It is the star and centerpiece at every gathering, be it big or small. Not mention its prominence as favorite pastime. Sure, this has me a little worried, seeing how it’s impossible to deny yourself of any of it…but, hey, you only live once!

One of the most familiar and delicious is the Polish Pierogi. These ravioli-like dumplings come with various fillings. The most traditional are minced meat, sauerkraut, mushroom, cheese and potato…but many restaurants experiment with more exotic fillings. Its very possible that I might return home looking like a Pierogi!

I absolutely must mention the excellent pastries, deserts and ice cream! All the confections you could possible want can all be found in the cukiernia (pastry shops) that are conveniently located on every single corner. Also, the candy company Wedel has cafés in conjunction with their chocolate shops making it a snap to enjoy their mean hot white-chocolates. This is my absolute weakness...SUGAR...I have limited my visitation rights to these places...I mean, once a day is ok, right?


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

PierogarniaPierogarnia
Pierogarnia

This place won the award for the best Pierogi in Warsaw in 2006...I agree!
Here I go...Here I go...
Here I go...

They even make then green.
Ice creamIce cream
Ice cream

Summer or winter, ice cream is always appropriate here.
WedelWedel
Wedel

This is cafe...steps to my left are cases of hand-made chocolates.
PastryPastry
Pastry

Look how well my little cousin Adam demonstrates the yummy-ness of the pasties...so many, how to choose? Answer: try them ALL!


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb