Awesome but humbling


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
February 10th 2010
Published: February 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, I’m currently on a VERY rocky train on my way to Warsaw, Poland’s capital city. I’ll be flying out to London tomorrow night!

I had such an awesome and humbling time in Krakow. Not only did I stay at an awesome hostel (Greg and Tom Hostel) which had free breakfast, wifi, dinner, movies and wii and so on, I met a great bunch of people, surprisingly Aussies, you can find us everywhere!!?? On the first night it was one of the girls birthdays so the hostel took us out for drinks at this vodka bar, then a beer place that serves the beer in the tube which carries 5L, it remind me of Thailand. And then last to a dancing club with a dancing pole. But it was a great night. We go introduced to new types of vodka (which is HUGE in Poland) and also to a Polish shot called a mad-dog. Vodka, raspberry and tobassco.

The next day me and one of the hostellers took a tour to Auschwitz. It was intense and humbling at the same time. EVERYONE has heard of Auschwitz and it was something on my list that I wanted to do in Europe. It reminded me very much of Cambodia and what happened there 20 years ago. But seeing what the Nazis did to the Jews, the homosexuals, disabled, etc was horrible. They had no mercy, not even for children and pregnant woman.

That night we had a few more drinks at the hostel and farewell drinks to some of the hostellers, was a good night!

Yesterday I explored the city and it was really pretty but I saw another castle. Guh, I’m getting sick of castles and churches, they’re all starting to look the same. And afraidly the Castle in Krakow was too impressive but still I had a nice day being a tourist. I also visited the Jewish District which not very tourist and that was really cool.

I have about a day and a half in Warsaw and have a whole list of things to do. Particularly the War Uprising Museum, more WW2 stuff but I’m looking forward to it. Also looking forward to London and catching up with some friends, its 2 weeks till I go home now, and I don’t wanna!!

S.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb