Krakow/Cracow and beyond


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
January 11th 2009
Published: January 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A big head and meA big head and meA big head and me

In the Krakow Rynek
After hanging in Kostrzyn, I came home to Wroclaw for a few days before taking the train to Krakow. Narina and Marshall hopped on the train as it passed through Gliwice and the three of us headed to the former Polish capital. Krakow was painfully cold for the 3 days we were there, but we still managed to see the sights and have some fun. Sadly, my camera battery died so I didn't take as many pictures as I hoped.

Narina and I decided to get our first Polish haircuts in Krakow. After finding a proper frzjer (salon), the hair was washed and cut and we were both pleased. I was a touch worried b/c Narina's hairdresser was quite old and didn't speak any English - but that didn't stop her from talking in Polish nonstop while snipping. My hairdresser was much younger and spoke a little English. She was shaking like a leaf while trimming my hair, which was concerning. Aside from Narina's mushroom styling, we both walked out happy.

Hope everyone is having a lovely 2009. Thanks for reading and thinking of me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Church!Church!
Church!

Crakow Rynek
Market hall Market hall
Market hall

C-C-Crakow Rynek
Wawel CastleWawel Castle
Wawel Castle

Outside the castle
Man on HorseMan on Horse
Man on Horse

Wawel Castle
PopePope
Pope

I'm sure you can guess who.... JPII
Courtyard in the castleCourtyard in the castle
Courtyard in the castle

I spared you 3 other frames of the courtyard. Obviously, quite large place.
ScoreScore
Score

Vine goalposts in the courtyard
Castle towerCastle tower
Castle tower

near the Vistula River.
Dragon outside the castleDragon outside the castle
Dragon outside the castle

next to the Vistula River in Krakow. terrible picture, but legend has it Wawel Castle is built on top of a dragon's lair. this statue shoots fire out of its mouth every few minutes. of course, I couldn't time the picture right...
WawelWawel
Wawel

View from the edge that faces the Jewish district.
Temple Synagogue, 1644Temple Synagogue, 1644
Temple Synagogue, 1644

in the Kasimierz, the historical Jewish district. Sweet Cuban bar right next door.
The Bible comes aliveThe Bible comes alive
The Bible comes alive

Lights, movement and sound. could hardly elbow my way through the little kids t to take a picture.
on the prowlon the prowl
on the prowl

big metal lizard. sweet.
Amazing Indian foodAmazing Indian food
Amazing Indian food

In celebration of first Polish hair cut.
Virgil's coming/going partyVirgil's coming/going party
Virgil's coming/going party

Virgil (former teacher) dropped by Poland for a few days, so Dan hosted a coming/going away party. Michal, Chelsea, Ania, Darren


24th September 2009

Polish Hairz
That hair cut had me worried too! You were lucky to get a young lady who understood your wants. I got the old lady who wanted to make me look like I had just stepped out of the 50's. The mushroom styling was painful but after spending several hours styling it myself, it looked much better. Glad I got to have my first (and only) Polish Hair cut with you! :)

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb