Planning Our Sojourne on the Trail of Royal Ancestors in Central Europe


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
March 29th 2024
Published: March 30th 2024
Edit Blog Post

At the end of my blog at Finding my Swedish Viking Ancestors and "Posssibly the Best Beer in the World", where I recounted my travels to the burial mounds of my Swedish Viking ancestors, I indicated where the trail of ancestors would lead me next. By using geni.com to follow the trees of both Mary of Egmond and Guelders, Queen Consort of King James II of Scotland (our 17th great grandparents (ggps)) and Margaret von Oldenburg, Queen Consort of King James III Stewart (our 16th ggps) as far back a millennium ago I found a treasure trove of the Emperors and Dukes of the Holy Roman Empire (Germany, etc.), the Kings of Poland, Hungary, Bulgaria and Serbia, and the Emperors of Byzantium. Shortly after returning from Sweden I visited the B&N bookstore where I found the historical fiction book "The Last Crown" by Polish author Elzbieta Cherwezinska, which links all these ancestors together. This was a fortuitous beginning of my research into Linda and my Central European ancestors.

This book tells the story of Queen "The Haughty" Świętosława (known in Sweden as "Sigrid" and in Denmark as "Gunhilda") Mieszkówna of the Piast Dynasty (28th great grandmother (ggm). She was the sister of King Boleslaw "The Brave" Chrobry, the first king of Poland (28th ggf).

Firstly, Queen "The Haughty" Świętosława married King Eric "The Victorious" of Sweden (26th ggf), with whom she had a son, King Olaf III "The Treasurer" of Sweden (25th ggf). When King Eric died early in their marriage, she had several minor royal suitors, including King Harald Grenske of Grenland...not Greenland. These minor king suitors went to Sweden to woo her. She scorned them as being beneath her station, and had them assemble in a hall, which she then burnt to the ground! King Harald Grenske (25th ggf) was the father of King/Saint Olaf II Haraldsson, King of Norway (24nd ggf). His widowed mother Queen Åsta Gudbrandsdóttir remarried King Sigurd Syr ("Sow") Halvdansson by whom she had another son named Harald "Hardrata" Sigurdsson, who later became King Harald III of Norway (24th ggf). The Haughty Queen's son by her first husband, King Olaf III Ericson (The Treasurer) of Sweden, had two daughters; Princess Ingegerd who married Prince Yaroslav "The Wise" Vladimirovich of Kievian Rus (26th ggf) and Princess Astrid who married King/Saint Olaf II Haraldsson of Norway. So Queen "The Haughty" Świętosława granddaughter Astrid married the son of the suitor she murdered.

King Olaf II, in his
King Bela Arpad I of HungaryKing Bela Arpad I of HungaryKing Bela Arpad I of Hungary

28th great grandfather
youth participated in Viking raids upon England. When attacking London held by the Danes, the Norwegian Vikings needed to destroy the bridge across the Thames. Olaf suggested using the long ships to pull the wooden piles. This destroyed the bridge and all the defenders on it. This may have been the origin of the nursery rhyme "London Bridges Falling Down." He later became a Christian and as king sought to Christianize Norway, which irritated the Jarls (Earls) who along with their people clung to their Norse gods. As a consequence he had to flee to the safety of his brother-in-law Prince Yaroslav "The Wise"'s court in Kievian Rus, who offered him any position he wished. However, he decided to return to Norway where he reclaimed the kingship, which was contested by King Cnut "The Great" Sweynsson of England. Denmark, Sweden and Norway (27th ggu). King Cnut had the allegiance of the disgruntled Jarls. King Olaf II was killed in the Battle of Stiklestad in 1030. His life story is recounted in "The Greatest Viking" by Desmond Seward.

King Olaf II's younger half-brother King Harald III "Hardrata", known as "The Last Viking" was wounded fighting by King Olaf II's side.
King/Saint Ladislaus of HungaryKing/Saint Ladislaus of HungaryKing/Saint Ladislaus of Hungary

27th great grandfather
He escaped to Kiev where he was welcomed by his cousin Prince Yaroslav "The Wise." He then traveled to Constantinople where he was commander of the Varangian Guard who protected the Byzantine Emperor. He returned to Norway after 16 years during which he accumulated great wealth where he was crowned king. In 1066 King Harald III "Hardrata" was killed in the Battle of Stamford Bridge by the army of King Harold II Godwinsson of England (29th ggf), who himself was killed in the Battle of Hastings by William the Conqueror (26th ggf) a couple weeks later. His story is recounted in "The Last Viking" by Don Holloway.

Secondly, Queen Świętosława married King Sven "Forkbeard" of Denmark, Norway, and England (28th ggf), the son of King Harald "Bluetooth" Gornsson of Denmark (29th ggf), with whom she had two sons. The oldest, Harald II, became King of Denmark and Norway. The younger son was Cnut. She told Cnut that if he wanted to be a king, he would have to conqueror another country. So, he invaded England. He became King Canute "The Great" of England. With the passing of his brother Harald II, he also became King of Denmark and Norway,
King Bela "The Blind" of HungaryKing Bela "The Blind" of HungaryKing Bela "The Blind" of Hungary

26th great grandfather
a position contested by King Olaf II in the Battle of Stiklestad. So, Polish Świętosława was the Queen or Queen Mother of four countries, but not Poland itself!

Now back to Queen Świętosława's brother King Boleslaw "The Brave." His granddaughter Richeza married Béla I Arpad (26th ggps), a Magyar who was the first King of Hungary and progenitor of the Arpad dynasty. Béla I's son was Saint/King Ladislaus I of Hungary (25th ggf). Their grandson Prince Álmos Arpad married Princess Predslava Sviatopolkovna Rurik of Kiev (24th ggps), the daughter of Prince Svyatopolk II Izyaslavich of Kiev, Grand Prince of Kiev (25th ggf). Their son King Bela II "The Blind" married Princess Jelena Urošević (24th ggps) who was the daughter of King Uroš I Petrislavić of Serbia and Queen Anna Diogenissa (25th ggps), the daughter of Emperor Constantine Diogenes and Empress Theodora Komnene of the Byzantine Empire (26th ggps). Emperor Constantine was the son of Emperor Romanos IV Diogenes and Empress Anna of Bulgaria (27th ggps). Last, but not least, we are related to Köten Khan of the Cumans (23rd ggf), a nomadic tribe from the steppes who decided to settle down in Hungary, as did the Magyar Arpads. His
Köten Khan of the CumansKöten Khan of the CumansKöten Khan of the Cumans

24th great grandfather
great granddaughter Erzsébet of the Cumans married King/Saint Steven V of Hungary (21st ggps). As you can see, relationships between European royalty are intertwined, complex, and spanned the continent of Europe. I had "fun" untangling the relationships!

As with my trip to Scotland and Sweden, I wanted to visit their countries, but didn't think I would be able to find castles as I did in Scotland. I roughed out an itinerary of where they were born or died,
but this didn't help as many were obscure villages or battlefields. Then I saw a picture of a statue in one of the towns, and the light bulb came on...kings have statues! I have previously taken pictures of kings who I found out later were my ancestors, including King Olav II of Norway (my 24th ggf) at My St. Olavsleden Pilgrimage and King Robert the Bruce (19th ggf) at Scottish Ancestral Visitations in Sterlingshire, Fife, Perth and Kinrosshire, Angus, and Aberdeenshire. So I did a Google search of images and found that towns/cities where these kings reigned and are commemorated with statues. This informed our itinerary.

The next blog covers our time in Poland and Slovakia where we will start in Krakow, the capital of King Boleslaw "The Brave." Then we will visit Haczow,
King Stephen of hungaryKing Stephen of hungaryKing Stephen of hungary

21st Great grandfather
Poland where Linda's paternal grandmother' parents embarked for Pennsylvania in 1870. We will then cross the Tatras Mountains to Nižné Repaše, Slovakia from where her maternal grandparents emigrated to Pennsylvania in 1918.

In the following blog we will visit Hungary and Romania before returning to Krakow for our flight home. At least that is Plan A. Lord willing, if my legs hold out, we will be able to stick to that plan.

As I mentioned in my last blog (see 2024 Caribbean Cruise to my 100th Country...and beyond) this trip is the last one on my current bucket list. As mentioned in my previous blog, Linda wants to cruise around South America and from Dubai, UAE down the Indian Ocean to Cape Town, South Africa. But having accomplish my goal of visiting 100 countries I have less priority for visiting those that are difficult to get to...long flights do not interest me!

As for ancestors, most of our remaining ancestors came from within the boundaries of the Holy Roman Empire, where we lived from 1977 to 1995, so I'm thinking I may just edit my earlier blogs to notate if any ancestors came from there without my knowing about it at the time.

I also have a few scattered ancestors around the periphery of the Mediterranean. I recently discovered that Musa Nusair al-Bekir (45th ggf) conquered North Africa and the Iberian Peninsula for Mohammad. His father Nusair ibn ʻAbd al-Rahman al-Bekir (46th ggf) was suspected of being a spy and was executed by Mohammad. I also have ancestors who were kings of Armenia (e.g. Ashot I "the Great," (38th ggf), Smbat I "the Martyr, " (37th ggf), Ashot III" the Peaceful," (36th ggf), Abas I (35th ggf), and Gagik I "the Great" (34th ggf) who ruled a thousand years ago. But I think these regions are too dangerous to visit now.

Advertisement



30th March 2024

Family History
Bob, I always find your energy for tracking the family roots awesome. I worked on that a few years ago but didn't stick with it. I enjoy your stories.
30th March 2024

Ancestry history
We have several branches that only go back as far as great great grandparents. If this had been true for all of the branches I would have quit looking. Indeed, we signed up for Ancestry in 2002 and didn't do anything for almost 20 years. Then with improved hints such as census and birth/marriage/death data, and information from geni.com and other ancestry websites, and Google Books, we were able to go further back. What has incentivized me was the amazing variety of people, and this blog shows their connectivity from England to Russia. With the Covid lock down I had plenty of time to research. Now I have 22,500 direct bloodline ancestors in my tree, and counting. First I went back 500 years, and then another 500 year, and now as far back as I can in each branch.
1st April 2024

Interconnected
Wow, it is amazing to see from how many different regions and peoples your ancestors come and how different dynasties and different countries are interconnected. It must be exciting to discover all this, and I can imagine that it is also a lot of work. It will be interesting to see what else you find.
2nd April 2024

Interconnected
Thanks for your comment. Yes it is really exciting to find such hidden treasures. They keep me going. And I learn more European history...on a personal basis. Right now I am reading "The War of the Roses" by Dan Jones. It was a very confusing part of history that I needed to learn more about. It turns out that Linda and I are related to all the major players, including including King Edward IV, through his mistress, Eleanor Talbot, known as the "Holy Harlot." I am related to many English and Scottish kings through their mistresses. Maybe I will have to visit more castles in England!
4th April 2024

Amazing!
Its quite amazing the amount of family history and members you've been able to discover ties to! So many that I had a difficult time trying to keep track -- also, its seems some/many had the same or similar names, correct? Your family trees are so extensive you must have a massive amount of information to keep track off!!
5th April 2024

Keeping track...
It really is difficult keeping track, especially as I have added my wife's ancestors to the tree. I have been trying to eliminate as many non pedigree ancestors (aunts and uncles) as possible, but am fearful that I would be deleting one of her ancestors. I've got to figure something out. The other problem is that with Scottish ancestors, many died young in battles and their wives married one or more times with other ancestors creating a spiders web rather than the normal progression of 2-4-8-16...different people. I've got to figure something out before I go nuts!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 16; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb