Today=.....I have no words


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway
March 6th 2009
Published: March 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

If this program is repeated, it is highly recommended by me that the coordinators get a local guide to take us to every place we need to go. This morning, we got on the bus to go to our last kindergarten school, and followed the map which actually did take us to the school. 1 hour and 15 minutes later from the bus stop, we arrived at the school, mind you. This walking has worn my feet to the bone! I was praying out loud, yelling, and hurting from walking over such difficult terrain (hilly, icy, slippery, slushy). On the map, the instructions said it would take just 12 minutes to walk there. WOW! Once we got there, this lady was telling us "Hurry, hurry! You are late! Did you get lost?!" And I was thinking, "Um, we followed your directions so technically we didn't get lost! YOU tell US why we were late!"

Okay, despite the horrors of this morning, the kindergarten we got to was very fun. The school was huge and there were tons of kids there. Unlike the kindergarten from the previous day, there were 3 male teachers and 39 female teachers, which is more typical of most Norwegian schools and U.S. schools. This particular kindergarten had a focus on drama, and they do one performance per week. It was so cute. If you are familiar with the book "The Mitten" by Jan Brett, their performance had basically the same plot as that book. In Norway, that story is a traditional folktale. The school seemed so creative, and I loved that about it. It was a bit more structured than the kindergarten we visited yesterday, but I think it is because it was very large and they had so many children to keep up with.

After leaving, we found a metro station super close to the school, and we hopped on. Wow, I wish we had known about this when we left the hostel this morning! Anyway, we went to a mall, got Burger King, went to a grocery store for some food tonight, and then came back to the hostel. I climbed up the monstrous hill for the last time, and it was a marvelous feeling! We will all have to go back down it, but I think I can handle it. Tonight I am off to the hotel and hoping everything will go just as we have planned it to! I'm almost back home!

Advertisement



7th March 2009

WOW!
Mary it sounds like something you will never forget! How very lucky you were able to do this. I am so very impressed with your Blog...you have done a great job and I am sure it will always help you to remember your trip. Can hardly wait to see all the pictures. Love you...be safe! Aunt Sharon
7th March 2009

I CANT WAIT FOR YOU TO COME HOME!!!! I MISS YOUR FACE LIKE CRAZY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb