Flam, Norway


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Flåm
July 8th 2009
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

arrival at Sognefjordarrival at Sognefjordarrival at Sognefjord

Our first glance at Norway's incredible fjords
Wow, what an awesome drive from Oslo to Flam. The first half was incredibly beautiful, the second half even better. We went through so many tunnels and daddy and I would yell all the way from start to finish of each tunnel. Some of them were many miles long, and I became out of breath and laughing at the same time. After passing lakes and mountains we arrived at the first view of an incredible fjord, Sognefjorden, the worlds longest fjord. Wow, what a view. We pulled over and took lots of pictures. We then drove down the crazy, curvy road until we go to the base of the fjord and we arrived at Flam.

This was the first time I ever went camping and I loved it. The tent was sooooo cool. Daddy pumped up a matress and it was just as comfortable as sleeping on a real bed. We had fun pretending we where ghosts. There were lots of kids to play with at the playgrounds and with it not getting dark until around midnight, I never wanted to go to sleep. I made a lot of new friends. However, daddy talked me into a movie in bed
I am too coolI am too coolI am too cool

About to leave Flam for our 2 hour fjord boat ride to Gudvangen
on my DVD player and we watched a movie and had a lot of fun. It rained a little, but we didnt get wet and I loved sleeping in my pink sleeping bag. Daddy was really happy that his 15 year old tent worked fine, but with how much I loved camping, I think it is time for him to buy a new one.

The next day we took a boat ride along Aurlandsfjorden to Gudvangen. It was beautiful. I had a lot of fun on the boat. I got 2 hot chocolates both of which I spilled, oh well. Lots of birds followed us. The view was incredible...small towns right on the water with really high mountains. 2 hours later, we arrived at a small town and went into a tiny shop. I picked up one of the hunreds of souvenir trolls and dropped that as well. Daddy felt that we should buy a troll since I dropped and broke one, so maybe I should do this more often. Then we took a bus to another town and then a famous train called Flamsbana Railway back to Flam. Once again, the waterfalls, mountain and fjord views were awesome. Then it was back to the campsite for some more running around and meeting other campers. Daddy said that the fjords were one of the most beautiful places he has ever seen...Definitely in his top 5.

After 2 nights in Flam, Daddy decided to take a very scenic drive through Norway and see how close he could get to Stockholm where we had reservations the next day. The drive, once again, was very beautiful....first started along the fjord with great views and then went through small mountain road from Ovre Ardal until we hit the famous Sognefjellet road through Jotunheimen National Park. We rarely ever saw any other cars. This is the highest mountain range in Northern Europe, and I even was able to play with snow in the middle of summer. Daddy was amazed that even with driving more than 12 hours (with stops) I didnt complain at all. Daddy thinks that a portable DVD is the worlds best travel invention for kids. But I didn't only watch movies. I also liked talking and listening to the CD he bought for me, as well as stopping at places and eating. After an incredible stay in Norway with friends
Me and DaddyMe and DaddyMe and Daddy

On a boat in Aurlandsfjorden
and fjords, it was time to leave Norway, and cross back into Sweden........



Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Our approach to FlamOur approach to Flam
Our approach to Flam

Incredible Fjord
Sognefjord....BeautifulSognefjord....Beautiful
Sognefjord....Beautiful

Between Aurland and Laerdal
Daddy on  the boatDaddy on  the boat
Daddy on the boat

Aurlandsfjorden
Me and Daddy at waterfallMe and Daddy at waterfall
Me and Daddy at waterfall

Flamsbana Railway
Me and Daddy at waterfallMe and Daddy at waterfall
Me and Daddy at waterfall

Flamsbana Railway
I love snowI love snow
I love snow

if it only wasnt that cold


10th August 2009

Lovely
Lovely pictures. I like your smiles. They show love. Graciela. From Argentina.
19th September 2009

Mike, Saw your site for first time today... Will you adopt me??? I travel well, I swear!!!

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb