In Fauske


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Fauske
June 7th 2023
Published: June 12th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Today was the day we went to Fauske to celebrate my Dad’s 78th birthday. Kristine was staying in Fauske at Eirik’s place. Shelley and I drove up to Fauske after enjoying a nice little breakfast at the hotel in Bodø.

We made the drive up to Fauske which takes about an hour. Roughly another fifteen minutes to reach Eirik’s house. Shelley and I actually brought some laundry to do at Eirik‘s since the dryer at the hotel wasn’t working. That was nice of him to let us do this. We looked through some old photos, but then it was time to head out to my Uncle Jens Vidar and Tante Astrid’s house for a light lunch.

Astrid had prepared some beautiful open-faced sandwiches for us to eat. We had these with coffee and enjoyed meeting “Booster” which is how “Buster” is pronounced in Norwegian. He was a shy dog but happy and loved.

After lunch, Jens Vidar accompanied us to the local cemetery where some members of the family were interred. I got to visit the site of my grandfather who died on the same day, 78 years before, on 7 Jun 1945. It also happened to be
Family lunchFamily lunchFamily lunch

Tante Astrid, Shelley, Kristine, Eric, and Uncle Jens Vidar.
the day my Dad was born in hospital in Fauske. Same day. One in, one out.

We captured some photos, and then went to drop Uncle off at home. Eirik, Kristine, Shelley, and I then made our way to Eirik’s place to meet some more family who were coming over for supper. We had a fantastic feast (I especially enjoyed the reindeer stew) and we had a great time visiting, looking at old photos, and listening to tons of Norwegian.

Shelley and I then had to leave to make our hour drive back from Fauske to Bodø and turned in for the night at our hotel downtown.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Fauske cemeteryFauske cemetery
Fauske cemetery

My great-grandparents and my granfather’s burial marker.
Fauske cemeteryFauske cemetery
Fauske cemetery

Kristine and I at our grandparents’ grave.
Grave stoneGrave stone
Grave stone

Tante Borghild and Uncle Konrad
Sturlaheim Sturlaheim
Sturlaheim

The house my grandmother built after Dad was born in 1945.
HospitalHospital
Hospital

The hospital where my Farmor gave birth to her son (my Dad) and the same day her husband passed away.
Road signRoad sign
Road sign

Name places my Farmor would often talk about, all in one sign!
Eldar and EricEldar and Eric
Eldar and Eric

Going through some old photos with Eldar Stendal.
Family photoFamily photo
Family photo

Kristine, Uncle Jens Vidar, and Eric
Family supperFamily supper
Family supper

Young Williard, Eirik, Eldar, Kristine, Gurd, Eric, and Shelley at the table.
DadDad
Dad

Picture of Dad in Sechelt on his 78th birthday; we were in Fauske, Norway where he was born on the very day.


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb