Geiranger and Trollstigen... keep 'em coming!


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Trøndelag » Trondheim
June 30th 2008
Published: June 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Onto Geiranger, and I had no idea from my map that I'd be making another snowbound climb up to just over 1000m (from about 500m this time). The previous night I had a lovely campsite next to Pollfoss, a huge gushing section of rapids, in a nice fir tree forest (my last midge-free night! but more on that later...)

The road up and over to Geiranger was really spectacular with an amazing first view straight down 1000m to the fjord below chockablock with cruise ships. A had a bit of a rest in the town (touristy as hell, but nonetheless a nice place) before doing the 600m switchback out the otherside to the famous viewpoint oif the whole fjord complete with waterfalls, etc... It was an awesome view, no doubt and defintely worth the climb, which for some reason didn't seem to bad (lots of toots from the campervans as i went up).

The next big destination was Trollstigen, the famed home of basejumping. I headed up the valley that evening towards what I thought was going to be huge climb the next morning. I even saw a real life troll with blue hair in the town at the bottom and also was interviewed by 2 norwegian journalists (nominally about the tourist sites/infrastructure) and had my photo taken (she asked me to smile a bit more). That night I slept in a field full of buttercups and cow poo under a huge 500m+ vertical cliff. Nice! But even though I wasn't so high up it was really cold!

The next morning I was greeted by a completely blue sky. Up I headed and before I knew it had hit the top of the pass. It turns out that approaching from the south Trollstigen is just a long gradual climb. It's from the north that you get the crazy switchbacks. Well at least i got to cycle down them and took a funky panorama shot of me (I took that photo about 5 times before I was quick enough to get on my bike and get into the shot within the 10 seconds of my timer).




Stats
-------

Day 32- Polfoss to Langdal - 25/6
Dist (miles): 66.28
Ave speed (mph): 10.6
Max speed (mph): 34.0
Time on saddle: 6h14

Day 33- Langdal to Heggem - 26/6
Dist (miles): 70.22
Ave speed (mph): 11.3
Max speed (mph): 34.5
Time on saddle: 6h13



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb